Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Hollingsworth outduels Byars for Whynot victory

July 3, 2011, 12:41 am
By Ben Shelton
PRO Dirt Car Series
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth enjoys his victory lane interview. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth enjoys his victory lane interview. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (July 2) — Polesitter Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., led all 40 laps Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park for his first career victory on the Promoters Racing Organization Dirt Car Series. Hollingsworth earned $2,000 for the second race on PRO's Three Crown Nationals. | Slideshow

Fellow front-row starter Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., battled Hollingsworth with a series of slide jobs much of the distance, but Hollingsworthy stayed in control for the victory in a race slowed by a single caution when fourth-running Eric Cooley lost a right-rear wheel.

Byars settled for second with 11th-starting David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., in third. Hometown drivers Chad Thrash and Rodney Wing rounded out the top five. Scott Creel of Franklinton, La., ran among the top five in the first half of the race but faded to finish seventh.

Notes: Hollingworth's Warrior Race Car is sponsored by Waddle Trucking and Kelley Electrical Contractors. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Bo Gordon, Keith House, Chad Washington. ... The Three Crown Nationals conclude Sunday at Magnolia Motor Speedway near Columbus, Miss.

PRO @ Whynot: (1) Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, (2) Klint Byars, (3) David Breazeale, (4) Chad Thrash, (5) Rodney Wing, (6) Neil Baggett, (7) Scott Creel, (8) Brian Rickman, (9) Steve Bryan, (10) Rick Rickman, (11) Cliff Williams, (12) Johnny Stokes, (13) Eric Cooley, (14) Clay Fisher, (15) Leon Henderson, (16) Tony Shelton, (17) Dean Carpenter, (18) Jason Milan, (19) Kody Barber, (20) Shay Knight, (21) Ross Camponovo, (22) Chris Hoomes. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Hollingsworth, 12.667 seconds. Consolation race winners: B. Rickman, Baggett.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728