Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greenville Speedway

Greenville gives Moore fifth straight victory

July 2, 2011, 6:19 am
PRO Dirt Car Series

GREENVILLE, Miss. (July 1) — Ray Moore of Haughton, La., clicked off his fifth straight victory overall on Friday, capturing the opening round of the Pro Dirt Car Series-sanctioned Three Crown Nationals at Greenville Speedway.

The seventh-starting Moore, who took the lead from Rick Rickman of Columbus, Miss., and led the final 17 laps, earned $2,000 for his first career PRO Victory. Rodney Wing of Meridian, Miss., finished second followed by fast qualifier David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss. Brothers Rick and Brian Rickman rounded out the top five at the quarter-mile gumbo clay oval in a 40-lapper slowed by six cautions and a red flag. | Slideshow

Outside front-row starter Mike Palasini Jr. got the jump at the outset and led the early laps, which were plagued by several stoppages. When Johnny Stokes went over the turn-four cushion for a lap-eight yellow, Palasini rolled to a stop and motion for an official during the caution period.

Because he stopped on the track against series rules, Palasini was sent to the tail; he decided to head to the pits, instead.

That handed the lead to Rick Rickman for the restart with Breazeale, Brian Rickman, Scott Creel and Moore giving chase. Rickman picked his way to the front, using a power move on the outside to take the lead on the 24th lap.

Notes: Moore's MB2 Customs Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Moore Wireline Inc, tic Tools International, X-Treme Graphics, Smith's Towing and J&J Motorsports. ... Moore is unbeaten since May 29 with victories on the O'Reilly SUPR and Comp Cams Super Dirt Series tour along with PRO. ... Tony Shelton's 23rd-to-11th run gave him the American Race Tires Hard Charger honors. ... The Three Crown Nationals continue Saturday at Whynot (Miss.) Motorsports Park and Sunday at Magnolia Motor Speedway near Columbus, Miss.

Three Crown Nationals: (1) Ray Moore, (2) Rodney Wing, (3) David Breazeale, (4) Rick Rickman, (5) Brian Rickman, (6) Chad Thrash, (7) Clay Fisher, (8) Scott Creel, (9) Johnny Stokes, (10) Greg Fore, (11) Tony Shelton, (12) Bo Gordon, (13) Dean Carpenter, (14) Pat Nichols, (15) Chad Washington, (16) Dewayne Estes, (17) Ross Camponovo, (18) Leon Henderson, (19) Eric Cooley, (20) Mike Palasini Jr., (21) Jason Milam, (22) Doug Showah. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Breazeale. Consolation race winners: Wing, Gordon.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728