Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Busha grabs $2,500 PRO victory at Talladega

June 26, 2011, 8:02 am
From series reports

EASTABOGA, Ala. (June 25) — Two-time and defending track champion Tim Busha raced to victory Saturday on the Mississippi-based Promoters Racing Organization Dirt Car Series for a $2,500 payday at Talladega Short Track.

Busha, who started outside the front row, took the checkers ahead of Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn. Polesitter Terry Smith of Oxford, Ala., was third followed by Margaret, Ala., drivers Jason Wilson and Danny Peoples, who started 11th. Sixth-finishing Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., was the top regular from the PRO tour.

Smith led the way early in the racing, running ahead of Busha and Johnson all the way until lap 32, when the first caution appeared. Another yellow two laps later set up a six-lap dash to the finish, and Busha jumped to the high side to get around Smith. Johnson followed Busha's lead but settled for second in the first PRO event at the third-mile oval.

Notes: Busha’s GRT Race Car is sponsored by Kilpatrick Chevrolet and Stealth Racing Carburetors. ... The event was the only series race of the weekend after Friday's action at Columbus (Miss.) Speedway was rained out. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Eddie Rickman, Buddy George, Mark Dodson, David Newton, Branden McCallum, Jeff Johns, Montana Dudley, Steve Kirk, Dane Treadwell and James Cline. ... PRO drivers return to Mississippi for July 1-3 action. The Firecracker Triple Crown Championships are scheduled for Greenville Speedway, Whynot Motorsports Park and Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus.

PRO @ Talladega: (1) Tim Busha, (2) Ronnie Johnson, (3) Terry Smith, (4) Jason Wilson, (5) Danny Peoples, (6) Eric Cooley, (7) Tim Roszell, (8) Johnny Stokes, (9) Chris Jones, (10) Brian Rickman, (11) Chris Thomas, (12) Brent Roberts, (13) Dean Carpenter, (14) Jason Milan, (15) Tony Shelton, (16) Jason Hiett, (17) Ross Martin, (18) Dillon Crim, (19) Doug King, (20) Jimmy Hudgins, (21) Chad Winkles, (22) James Cline, (23) Rick Rickman, (24) Mike Fields. Fast group qualifiers (among 32 cars): Smith, Busha. Consolation race winners: Peoples, Jones. Provisional starters: Shelton, R. Rickman.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728