Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Red-hot Byars captures SAS victory at Whynot

May 29, 2011, 4:15 am
From track reports
Klint Byars steers toward a Southern All Star victory at Whynot on May 28. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Klint Byars steers toward a Southern All Star victory at Whynot on May 28. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (May 28) — Polesitter Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., continued his career-best weekend Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park with his first-ever victory on the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series.

Byars, the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series points leader who won on that circuit a night earlier in Hattiesburg, earned a career-high $5,000 at the third-mile oval in outrunning Tony Knowles of Tyrone, Ga. | Slideshow

Brian Reese of Sharpsburg, Ga., posted his best-ever series finish in third while Shep Lucas of McKenzie, Ala., and Dwight Falcon of Walker, La., rounded out the top five in the first series visit to Whynot in 22 seasons.

The Southern All Stars stay in Mississippi on Sunday to complete the Memorial Day weekend doubleheader at Magnolia Motor Speedway near Columbus.

Notes: The 23-year-old Byars drives a Victory Circle Chassis from Billy Moyer's shop with power from a Jay Dickens Racing Engine; sponsors are Southern Belle along with Lovorn & Lovorn Trucking. ... Six states were represented in the 24-car starting field. ... The series last visited Whynot on Aug. 12, 1989, with Eddie Rickman taking the victory. ... Half the field was running at the finish. ... Justin McRee won the night's NeSmith Crate feature.

Memorial Madness 50: (1) Klint Byars, (2) Tony Knowles, (3) Brian Reese, (4) Shep Lucas, (5) Dwight Falcon, (6) Scott Creel, (7) Brooks Strength, (8) Billy Ogle Jr., (9) Tommy Kerr, (10) William Thomas, (11) David Payne, (12) Jeff Franklin, (13) Shane Clanton, (14) Jason Cliburn, (15) Dane Dacus, (16) David Breazeale, (17) Skip Arp, (18) Randy Thompson, (19) Seth Williams, (20) Wade Byars, (21) Steve Bryan, (22) Jamie Tollison, (23) Jimmy Cliburn, (24) Rodney Wing. Fast qualifier (among 33 cars): K Byars, 13.544 seconds. Consolation race winners: Clanton, Falcon.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728