Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hattiesburg Speedway

Byars stretches MSCCS point lead at Hattiesburg

May 28, 2011, 10:20 am
From series reports

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (May 27) — Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., stretched his Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series points lead Friday with a victory at Hattiesburg Motorsports Park. Byars earned $2,000 for his second MSCCS victory of the season.

Although Byars officially led all 40 laps at the quarter-mile oval, he was helped by a lap-20 caution that reset the running order after runner-up David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., slipped into the lead. The caution appeared when polesitter Rodney Wing of Meridian, Miss., slowed and dropped to the infield.

Byars had a cushion of a lapped car on Breazeale at the finish while Brooks Strength of Jackson, Miss., was third. Consolation race winner Keith Miller of Sumrall, Miss., advanced six positions to finish fourth and Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss., was fifth.

The race was slowed by seven cautions, mostly for single-car incidents and once for debris.

Notes: Byars drives a Victory Circle Chassis from Billy Moyer's shop with power from a Jay Dickens Racing Engine; sponsors are Southerne Belle along with Lovorn & Lovorn Trucking. ... Louisiana driver Dwight Falcon Jr. made his first MSSCS feature, finishing 16th, three spots behind his father. ... MSCCS competitors are off until a June 18 event at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.

MSCCS @ Hattiesburg: (1) Klint Byars, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Brooks Strength, (4) Keith Miller, (5) Steve Bryan, (6) Scott Creel, (7) Wade Byars, (8) Cliff Williams, (9) Kody Barber, (10) Randy Thompson, (11) Leon Henderson, (12) Scott Ladner, (13) Dwight Falcon, (14) Shannon Lee, (15) Rodney Wing, (16) Dwight Falcon Jr., (17) Chad Thrash, (18) Ben Stephens, (19) Jeremy Broadus. Fast group qualifiers (among 20 cars): Strength, Wing. Dash winner: Wing. Consolation winners: Miller, Henderson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728