Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland County Speedway

Roffers wins at Lawndale for consecutive Clash victories

April 15, 2011, 11:46 pm
By Alison Williams
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

LAWNDALE, N.C. (April 15) — Wisconsin transplant Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., led all 40 laps Friday night at Cleveland County Speedway to capture his second straight victory on the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series.

Roffers, who also won April 2 at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway, earned $4,000 for his third career series victory over the past 10 months.

Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., moved by Kenny Compton Jr. Bland, Va., for second on lap 10 and challenged Roffers for the lead. But he ended up backing his No. 22 into the outside wall after contact with the leader on lap 19.

Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., took over second after Ferguson's demise and challenged Roffers through the middle portions of the race. But Roffers pulled away after the final restart on lap 34.

Pursley finished second followed by Petey Ivey of Union, S.C., Compton, and reigning series champ Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., rounded out the top five in a caution-plagued feature.

Notes: Roffers drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Wolf-Pack Racing, Cal-Les-2 Transport, Wayne Roffers Trucking, Chad Roffers Trucking, Roffers Wildlife Studio and Wisconsin Lock & Load. .... Roffers, a shop mechanic for Earnhardt Ganassi Racing, lowered the track record at the 4/10-mile oval with his 17.126-second qualifying lap. ... The series continues its doubleheader weekend Saturday at Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, N.C.

Carolina Clash @ Cleveland County: (1) Luke Roffers, (2) Johnny Pursley, (3) Petey Ivey, (4) Kennie Compton Jr., (5) Dennis Franklin, (6) Jeff Smith, (7) Jay Sessoms, (8) Chad Paxton, (9) Robbie Bailey, (10) Mike Huey, (11) Travis Yow, (12) David Taylor, (13) Mike Gault, (14) Scott Autry, (15) Brian Ledbetter, (16) Dustin Mitchell, (17) Chris Ferguson, (18) Tim Allen, (19) Furman Parton, (20) Ricky Weeks, (21) Craig Shuffield, (22) Doug Sanders, (23) Dean Bowen, (24) John Pursley, (25) Ross Bailes. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Roffers, 17.182 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728