Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1215
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

Brindle dominates North Georgia for first victory

April 10, 2011, 12:14 pm
From series reports
Hometown driver Chip Brindle celebrates his first Super Late Model victory. (mikessportsimages.com)
Hometown driver Chip Brindle celebrates his first Super Late Model victory. (mikessportsimages.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (April 9, 2011) – After running well in early-season events around the Southeast, rookie driver Chip Brindle returned to his home track of North Georgia Speedway Saturday night and scored his first Super Late Model victory in a $3,000-to-win STARS Volunteer Racing Series event. | Slideshow

Brindle led all 40 laps at the third-mile racetrack, holding off a hard-charging Billy Ogle Jr. in the final laps as he worked his way through lapped traffic to take the victory in front of his hometown crowd.

Ogle of Knoxville, Tenn., settled for the runner-up finish with Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., finishing third. Gary McPherson of Dalton, Ga., finished fourth with Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., rounding out the top five.

Notes: Brindle’s Bryson Motorsports Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Clements engine with sponsorship by SEG, CSC Trailer Repair and GW Performance. ... Brindle’s victory broke Johnson’s streak of four consecutive STARS VRS victories at North Georgia. Johnson won all four series events at the track in 2010. ... The next series race is a $3,000-to-win event at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga., scheduled for May 6. ... The race’s 23 entries represented five states.

VRS @ North Georgia: (1) Chip Brindle, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Jonathan Davenport, (4) Gary McPherson, (5) Ronnie Johnson, (6) Eric Jacobsen, (7) Tony Knowles, (8) Shane Clanton, (9) Derek Ellis, (10) Vic Hill, (11) Tommy Kerr, (12) Brian Reese, (13) Tyler Millwood, (14) Jacob Grizzle, (15) Johnny Chastain, (16) Davey Davis, (17) Royce Bray, (18) Robert Gant, (19) Ross White, (20) Skip Arip, (21) Steve Smith, (22) Shawn Chastain. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Ogle, 13.186 seconds. Consolation race winners: Hill, Jacobsen. Provisional starters: White, Gant.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728