Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Byars continues first-time MSCSS streak

April 10, 2011, 12:13 pm
From track reports
Klint Byars raced to his first MSCCS victory Saturday night at Whynot. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Klint Byars raced to his first MSCCS victory Saturday night at Whynot. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (April 9) — The Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series continued a streak of first-time winners Saturday with Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., grabbing a checkered flag at Whynot Motorsports Park. The 23-year-old Byars, who started outside the front row, earned $2,500. | Slideshow

Byars swapped the lead multiple times with polesitter David Breazeale before pulling ahead for good on lap 38 of the 50-lap race.

Breazeale, the reigning series champion from Four Corners, Miss., settled for the runner-up finish followed by Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss., who gained five positions. Jeremy Broadus of Biloxi, Mis., and hometown driver Rodney Wing rounded out the top five finishers. Jim McDuffie of Meridian started third but ended up 17th.

Notes: Byars drives a Victory Circle Chassis from Billy Moyer's shop with power from a Jay Dickens Racing Engine; sponsors are Southerne Belle along with Lovorn & Lovorn Trucking. ... The fifth-year Late Model racer switched to Victory Circle for 2011. ... Next up for MSCCS competitors is an April 16 event at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.

MSCCS @ Whynot: (1) Klint Byars, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Steve Bryan, (4) Jeremy Broadus, (5) Rodney Wing, (6) Jay Burchfield, (7) Scott Creel, (8) Brian Rickman, (9) Eric Cooley, (10) Jason Cliburn, (11) Brooks Strength, (12) Wade Byars, (13) Keith Miller, (14) Chad Thrash, (15) Leon Henderson, (16) Jamie Tollison, (17) Jim McDuffie, (18) Timothy Culp, (19) Rick Rickman, (20) Kody Barber, (21) Justin McRee, (22) Jason Brock. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): K. Byars, 12.895 seconds. Dash winner: Breazeale. Consolation winners: R. Rickman, W. Byars.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728