Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Fayetteville Motor Speedway

Roffers wins Fayetteville's Gibbons Memorial

April 3, 2011, 3:31 pm
From series reports

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. (April 2) — Wisconsin transplant Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., took the lead on the seventh lap of the third annual Ed Gibbons Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway and raced to a $4,000 victory on the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series.

Roffers earned his second career series victory, but it was the first time he'd taken checkered flag first because his June 26, 2010, triumph at Dublin (N.C.) Motor Speedway came when he inherited the victory through another driver's disqualification.

Polesitter Dustin Mitchell of Pine Level, N.C., led the first six laps but settled for second at the 4/10-mile oval while Mike Gault of Gaffney, S.C., was third, leaving the race tied for the series points lead with Roffers. Brent Robinson of Smithfield, Va., and hometown driver Scott Autry rounded out the top five. Former series champ Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., rallied from 23rd to finish sixth.

The most serious of four cautions followed a six-car pileup in turn two early in the race that knocked Ray Tucker and Chris Blackwell out of action.

Roffers chased Mitchell early in the race before making his move inside the leader heading into turn three on the seventh lap.

Three mid-race cautions slowed the action — Tim Allen slowed on lap 17, Travis Hair slowed on lap 19 and Kennie Compton Jr. looped his car on lap 21 — and the final 19 laps ran caution free.

With Roffers maintaining control, Gault took fourth from Robinson on the 32nd lap, then took third when Dean Bowen of Whiteville, N.C., got crossed up and fell back to sixth.

Notes: Roffers drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Wolf-Pack Racing, Cal-Les-2 Transport, Wayne Roffers Trucking, Chad Roffers Trucking, Roffers Wildlife Studio and Wisconsin Lock & Load. ... The victory came on the birthday of the winner's father. ... Five-time series champion Ricky Weeks, disqualified from his victory in the season opener when the series said lab tests proved he used illegal tires, skipped the event, competing in the Ultimate Super Late Model Series event at 311 Motor Speedway in Madison, N.C., where a rollover accident eliminated his car; he wasn't injured. ... Up next for the Carolina Clash is an April 9 event at Lancaster (S.C.) Motor Speedway.

Ed Gibbons Memorial: (1) Luke Roffers, (2) Dustin Mitchell, (3) Mike Gault, (4) Brent Robinson, (5) Scott Autry, (6) Jeff Smith, (7) Dean Bowen, (8) Shawn Beasley, (9) Chris Meadows, (10) Johnny Pursley, (11) Travis Yow, (12) Dennis Franklin, (13) Chad Paxton, (14) Craig Shuffield, (15) Kennie Compton Jr., (16) Scott Neighbors, (17) David Taylor, (18) Justin Labonte, (19) Harold Redman Jr., (20) Dale Hammond, (21) Travis Hair, (22) Tim Allen, (23) Chris Blackwell, (24) Ray Tucker. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Mitchell. Heat race winners: Franklin, Autry. Consolation winner: Labonte.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728