Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Jackson Motor Speedway

Strength breaks through on MSCCS tour

April 3, 2011, 5:12 am
From track reports
Brooks Strength hits victory lane on the MSCCS for the first time. (Stacey Dearman)
Brooks Strength hits victory lane on the MSCCS for the first time. (Stacey Dearman)

BYRAM, Miss. (April 2) — Hometown driver Brooks Strength came from his fourth starting spot Saturday at Jackson Motor Speedway to capture his first career victory on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series. Strength, who fell back to fifth early in the race, took the lead from Jeremy Broadus of Biloxi, Miss., with 10 laps remaining and earned $3,000 for the victory.

Strength, making just his second start in a Bill Stephens-owned GRT Race Car, took the checkers over Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., who matched his best career Late Model finish. Polesitter Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., was third followed by Broadus and the winner's teammate Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss.

Notes: Strength's GRT is sponsored by Speedway Collectibles, Havana Smoke Shoppe, Humidor Cigars, HCI Shocks, Siding with Strength and Duncan Motorsports. ... Next up for MSCCS competitors is a $2,500-to-win event on April 9 at Whynot (Miss.) Motorsports Park near Meridian, a makeup of a race cancelled by weather last month.

MSCCS @ Jackson: (1) Brooks Strength, (2) Timothy Culp, (3) Klint Byars, (4) Jeremy Broadus, (5) Steve Bryan, (6) Bo Gordon, (7) Jason Cliburn, (8) Greg Fore, (9) Ross Campanovo, (10) Jack Sullivan, (11) Daniel Moore, (12) Keith Miller, (13) George Paul, (14) Clay Fisher, (15) Wade Byars, (16) Clint Logan, (17) Randy Boyd Thompson, (18) Kody Barber, (19) Leon Henderson, (20) Chad Thrash, (21) Craig Turan, (22) Dane Dacus, (23) Jimmy Cliburn, (24) Jamie Tollison, (25) Brad Banes. Fast qualifier (among 33 cars): Bryan. Dash winner: K. Byars. Consolation race winners: Gordon, Dacus, Jimmy Cliburn.

Correction: Fixes winning purse to $3,000 sted $2,500.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728