Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland Speedway

Hickman takes Cleveland's Adcox Memorial

October 17, 2010, 11:40 am
From track reports

CLEVELAND, Tenn. (Oct. 16) — Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., overtook polesitter Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., and raced to victory in the 20th annual Grant Adcox Memorial at Cleveland Speedway.

The Cleveland regular earned $4,000 for his first career victory on the Southern Regional Racing Series as Anthony Burroughs of Muscle Shoals, Ala., wrapped up the SRRS crown. | Video

Cook was in control early in the 40-lapper, but the third-starting Hickman worked under second-running Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis., and then the leading Cook to take command during a long green-flag stretch of racing.

Hickman led the rest of the way while Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., worked his way up to finish second at the third-mile oval. Cook settled for third ahead of Schlieper while consolation race winner David Payne of Murphy, N.C., rallied to finish fifth. Burroughs, the night's fast qualifier, was seventh in wrapping up his series championship.

Among cautions were a lap-two slowed for a four-car incident involving Brad Coffey, Curtis Cline, Mike Hill and SRRS Rookie of the Year Jacob Grizzle. Chris Wall also spun in turn four to draw a yellow and a frontstretch scramble between Chad Ogle and Grizzle drew a lap-32 caution. Mark Douglas of Knoxville, Tenn., spun out of the fifth spot on lap 36.

Notes: Hickman's MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a RaceTek engine and sponsored by Hickman Manufacturing, American Billet, Austin Trucking, Mayo Racing Components, and Bodies by Rick Hixson. ... Justin Litchford won the night's feature for Crate and Limited Late Model. ... Next up at Cleveland is the Nov. 6 Tar Heel Classic, an unsanctioned event promoted by Ray Cook paying $5,000 to the winner.

Grant Adcox Memorial: (1) Riley Hickman, (2) Skip Arp, (3) Ray Cook, (4) Dan Schlieper, (5) David Payne, (6) Eric Wells, (7) Anthony Burroughs, (8) Chad Ogle, (9) Scott Creel, (10) Mark Douglas, (11) Aaron Ridley, (12) Bo Shirley, (13) Jacob Grizzle, (14) Shawn Chastain, (15) Mark Vineyard, (16) William Thomas, (17) Jeff Neubert, (18) Chris Wall, (19) Todd Morrow, (20) Steve Smith, (21) Jake Knowles, (22) Brad Coffey, (23) Curtis Cline, (24) Mike Hill. Fast qualifier (among 30 cars): Burroughs. Consolation race winners: Wells, S. Smith, Payne.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728