Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dublin Motor Speedway

Jeff Smith's fifth-to-first restart bests Dublin field

September 27, 2010, 7:59 am
By Alex Cummings
Carolina Clash

DUBLIN, N.C. (Sept. 25) — Making a dazzling high-side charge, Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., went from fifth to first on a lap-26 restart and led the rest of the way at Dublin Motor Speedway for his 24th career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory. Smith, who started ninth, earned $4,000 for his second victory of the season.

Jay Sessoms of Stanley, N.C., was second for his best series finish of the season while Dean Bowen of Whiteville, N.C., was third. Stephen Evans of Tyner, N.C., finished a career-best fourth and series points leader Dennis Frankin of Gaffney, S.C., rounded out the top five.

Several contenders ran into problems. Polesitter Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton, N.C., led the first three laps, but transmission problems forced him out. Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., spun in turn one after a lap-20 restart, but rallied to finish eighth.

Dan Breuer of Mooresville, N.C., was in a multicar wreck in turn one midway through the race that also involve Smith, Mike Parker and David Taylor. Breuer's race came to an end on lap 33 when he lost a left-rear wheel and the axle housing down the frontstretch.

Notes: Smith's Rocket Chassis has an Earnhardt-Childress Racing Engine and sponsorship from Star Leasing and Starrette Trucking. ... Chuck Smith won Safety Kleen Hard Charger honors for his 23rd-to-11th run. ... Justin Labonte scratched from the feature because of a hole in his car's oilpan. ... Next up for Carolina Clash competitors is an Oct. 9 event at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway.

Carolina Clash @ Dublin: (1) Jeff Smith, (2) Jay Sessoms, (3) Dean Bowen, (4) Stephen Evans, (5) Dennis Franklin, (6) Travis Hair, (7) Scott Autry, (8) Chris Ferguson, (9) Luke Roffers, (10) David Taylor, (11) Chuck Smith, (12) Timmy Blackwell, (13) Brian Ledbetter, (14) Mike Parker, (15) Dan Breuer, (16) Jonathan Gunter, (17) Travis Yow, (18) Craig Shuffield, (19) Ricky Weeks, (20) Tim Allen, (21) Keith Jacobs, (22) Dale Hammond, (23) Michael Marlowe. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Weeks. Heat race winners: Labonte, Roffers.

Correction: FIxes car count to 28 sted 23.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728