Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Riverside Int'l Speedway

Stovall wins at Riverside for MSRA sweep

September 20, 2010, 9:16 am
From series reports
Jesse Stovall (14jr) heads for victory. (Woody Hampton)
Jesse Stovall (14jr) heads for victory. (Woody Hampton)

WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (Sept. 18) — Just 24 hours after claiming his first Comp Cams Mid-South Racing Association victory of 2010, Jesse Stovall from Galena, Mo., doubled his pleasure by taking the $3,500 winner’s check in the fourth Annual Bartlett Hardwood Floor Service Mid-South Dirt Track Championship.

A record turnout of 41 Super Late Models entered the event at Riverside International Speedway, which offered the largest purse in tour history.

Stovall began the night by advancing from ninth to second in his heat race to earn the pole position for the feature, and he was He was joined on the front row by young Austin Rettig of Sikeston, Pa.

The 40-lapper was caution-plagued as a lightning fast surface greeted competitors. Stovall bolted to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Rettig, Stacy Taylor, Robert Lovette, and Jeff Floyd in tow.

Several yellows slowed the first 10 laps, and Stovall was in command at that juncture followed by Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., Rettig, Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., and Floyd.

It was a survival test the rest of the way with Stovall hanging on to beat Frye, duplicating the finish from Friday's MSRA event at USA Speedway in Sterlington, La. Rettig was third followed by 20th-starting Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Miss., and Billy Moyer Jr., of Batesville, Ark.

Notes: Stovall's Steve Rushin-owned Larry Shaw Race Car is powered by a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsored by Swafford's Service, Rushin Towing and New Vision Graphics. ... Stovall earned $100 from Woody Hampton Photos for winning the pole. ... Dean Carpenter earned Larry Shaw Hard Charger honors for his 20th-to-fourth run. ... Eddie Provence picked up the Quarter Master Hard Luck award after his car was damaged in a heat race. ... The top three drivers failing to transfer from consolation races earned $100 from Bobby Martin. The drivers: Curtis Cook, Brandon Smith and Jamie Dacus. ... Other drivers failing to make the feature: Jamie Elam, Todd Hall, David Breazeale, Leon Henderson, Neil Baggett, Daniel Waters, Jimmy Miller, Jeff Sloan, Gary Youngblood, Thomas Dacus, Dalton Alexander, Jeremy Glasgow, Dillon Knight, Richie Kirkman and Jerome Roberson. ... MSRA competitors wrap up the season Oct. 2 at West Plains (Mo.) Speedway for the 20th Annual Kuntz & Co. Race Engines Fall Nationals presented by Colton’s Steakhouse.

Bartlett Hardwood Floor Service Mid-South Dirt Track Championship: (1) Jesse Stovall, (2) Bill Frye, (3) Austin Rettig, (4) Dean Carpenter, (5) Billy Moyer Jr., (6) Jeff Floyd, (7) Kyle Beard, (8) Shane Stephens, (9) Joey Mack, (10) Clay Fisher, (11) Ashley Newman, (12) Greg Alexander, (13) Jon Mitchell, (14) Bo Gordon, (15) Cody Caldwell, (16) Dillon Knight, (17) Mark Stephens, (18) Bub McCool, (19) Alan Rettig, (20) Jon Kirby, (21) Stacy Taylor, (22) Robert Lovette. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Austin Rettig, Floyd, Gordon, Frye, Lovette. Consolation winners: Stephens, McCool, Kirby.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728