Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

North Georgia oval still belongs to R.J.

September 7, 2010, 11:06 am
From series reports
Ronnie Johnson in victory lane. (mikessportsimages.com)
Ronnie Johnson in victory lane. (mikessportsimages.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (Sept. 4) — Maintaining his season-long domination of special events at North Georgia Speedway, Ronnie Johnson earned $3,000 Saturday at North Georgia Speedway on the Volunteer Racing Series.

Johnson, who captured his fourth victory of the season on the first-year series, took the lead from Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., on the sixth lap and never looked back. | Slideshow | Video

Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., finished second followed by Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn. Kerr was fourth and Tony Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., was fifth and the top home-state driver.

Six cautions slowed the actions, mostly for minor single-car incidents. David Payne, Gary McPherson, John Owenbey and Ronnie Payne were among drivers involved.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Vinson Racing Engine and sponsorship from Miller Bros. Coal, Simmon's Lawn Care, and Koontz Plumbing & Construction. ... Eighth-finishing Jake Knowles advanced nine positions to get PPM Racing Products hard charger honors. ... Among drivers failing to make the main event: Jamie Oliver, Kevin Gibson and Charles Hurst. ... The Volunteer Racing Series returns to action Sept. 17-18 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky.

VRS @ North Georgia: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Mike Weeks, (4) Tommy Kerr, (5) Tony Knowles, (6) Randy Weaver, (7) Derek Ellis, (8) Jake Knowles, (9) William Thomas, (10) Brian Hickman, (11) Brad Coffey, (12) Ronnie Payne, (13) Ray Jarnigan, (14) Rodney Weeks, (15) Steve Smith, (16) John Owenbey, (17) Preston Graves, (18) Gar Dickson, (19) Gary McPherson, (20) Dan Tipton, (21) Mark Douglas, (22) David Payne. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Weaver, 13.191 seconds. Heat race winners: Kerr, Weaver, Knowles. Consolation winner: Dickson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728