Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

R.J. rolls to another North Georgia victory

August 16, 2010, 6:20 am
From series reports
Ronnie Johnson wins again at North Georgia. (photobyconnie.com)
Ronnie Johnson wins again at North Georgia. (photobyconnie.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (Aug. 14) — Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., notched his third special event victory of the season at North Georgia Speedway on Saturday, earning $3,000 in a 40-lapper co-sanctioned by the Southern Regional Racing Series and Volunteer Racing Series. Johnson overtook polesitter Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., on the eighth lap and led the rest of the way. | Slideshow

David Payne of Murphy, N.C., finished second followed by Kevin Gibson of Ringgold, Ga., and hometown driver Derek Ellis. The fast qualifier Weaver, who piloted an Ellis backup car, pulled to the infield pits during a lap-14 caution period with an overheating engine.

Weaver led from the outset with Johnson and Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Ga., in hot pursuit. Johnson was right on Weaver's rear deck after a lap-five restart and slipped inside Weaver on the the seventh lap to pull alongside, making the winning pass a lap later.

Three cautions slowed the race. Jerry Bradley spun on the second lap; Bradley and Ray Jarnigan tangled in turn four on the fifth lap; and former track champion Gary McPherson slowed on the 14th lap for the final yellow.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Vinson Racing Engine and sponsorship from Miller Brothers Construction and Austin Trucking. ... Johnson previously won at North Georgia Speedway on May 29 in VRS action and on July 24 in SRRS competition. ... George Mashburn of Murphy, N.C., earned hard charger honors for his 23rd-to-13th run. ... Murphy's Shawn Chastain scratched from his heat race and the feature. ... Next up for SRRS competitors is an Aug. 20 race at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. ... Volunteer Racing Series competitors head to Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky., on Aug. 21.

SRRS-VRS @ North Georgia: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) David Payne, (3) Kevin Gibson, (4) Derek Ellis, (5) Tommy Kerr, (6) Mike Weeks, (7) Anthony Burroughs, (8) Brandon Kinzer, (9) Tony Morris, (10) Robert Gant, (11) Rodney Weeks, (12) Jacob Grizzle, (13) George Mashburn, (14) Ray Jarnigan, (15) Ross White, (16) Kayne Hickman, (17) Josh Putnam, (18) Brad Coffey, (19) Nathan Parris, (20) Johnny Chastain, (21) Gary McPherson, (22) Randy Weaver, (23) Jerry Bradley, (24) Davy Davis. Scratched: Shawn Chastain. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Weaver, 12.897 seconds. Consolation race winners: Ellis, Weeks.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728