Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland County Speedway

Pursley wins from pole at Cleveland County

August 14, 2010, 5:15 pm
From series reports

LAWNDALE, N.C. (Aug. 13) — Polesitter Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., won Friday at Cleveland County Speedway for his second Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory of the season. Pursley earned $4,000 in leading all 40 laps at the half-mile oval.

Third-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., was second followed by Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., who improved six positions. Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., earned hard charger honors with his 12th-to-fourth run and Dean Bowen of Whiteville, N.C., rounded out the top five. Outside front-row starter Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton, N.C., pulled out on the 19th lap with a broken rear end and finished 18th.

Two third-place drivers were involved in accidents that knocked them out on lap-24 restarts. Jeff Smith was towed off on the second of three cautions on the 24th lap while Ty Dillon, who inherited third after Smith's departure, was done after spinning in turn four to trigger a multicar accident.

Pursley lowered the track record in time trials with a 17.664-second lap.

Carolina Clash @ Cleveland County: (1) Johnny Pursley, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) Luke Roffers, (4) Chris Ferguson, (5) Dean Bowen, (6) Jeff Cooke, (7) Jay Sessoms, (8) Ty Dillon, (9) Donald Bradsher, (10) David Taylor, (11) Craig Shuffield, (12) Brian Ledbetter, (13) Michael Marlowe, (14) Stephen Evans, (15) Jeff Smith, (16) Jim Rasey, (17) Brandon Ifft, (18) Ricky Weeks, (19) Kyle Pierce. Fast qualifier (among 19 cars): Pursley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728