Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wythe Raceway

Compton rallies from 15th for Wythe victory

August 9, 2010, 9:18 am
From series reports

RURAL RETREAT, Va. (Aug. 7) — Rallying from his 15th starting spot, Kenny Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., overtook outside front-row starter Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., on the 11th lap Saturday at Wythe Raceway and led the rest of the 40-lapper for one of his biggest career victories. Compton collected $5,000 in the race co-sanctioned by the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series and first-year Volunteer Racing Series as he won for the first time on either tour.

Ferguson settled for second at the half-mile oval while Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., rallied from his 18th starting spot for third. Dean Bowen of Whiteville, N.C., and eighth-starting Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn., rounded out a top five with a mix of drivers from each series.

Polesitter Dan Breuer of Mooresville, N.C., was knocked from contention on the second lap when he lost a right rear tire in turn two.

Five cautions slowed the action, including early yellows for Breuer, fast qualifier Donald Bradsher's spin and a flat tire for Jordan Bland. Tim Allen slowed to draw a lap-10 yellow and the final caution appeared on the 35th lap when Hall of Famer Freddy Smith slowed after losing power. Freddy's son Jeff Smith headed pitside during the caution with a flat tire, giving up the fourth spot.

Notes: Compton's Clements-powered Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Appalachian Leasing. ... Billy Ogle Jr.'s 18th-to-third run gave him fast time honors. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Brian Ledbetter, Jimmy McCormick, Tommy Kerr and Travis Greer. ... Next up for Carolina Clash competitors is the Aug. 13-14 weekend at Cleveland County Speedway in Lawndale, N.C., and Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway, which completes a July 31 rainout. ... Volunteer Racing Series competitors head to North Georgia Speedway on Aug. 14 for a co-sanctioned event with the Southern Regional Racing Series.

Carolina Clash-VRS @ Wythe: (1) Kenny Compton Jr., (2) Chris Ferguson, (3) Billy Ogle Jr., (4) Dean Bowen, (5) Vic Hill, (6) Ty Dillon, (7) Kerry Jones, (8) Ricky Weeks, (9) Dennis Franklin, (10) Jeff Smith, (11) Tim Allen, (12) David Taylor, (13) Daniel Baggerly, (14) Mike Weeks, (15) Jay Sessoms, (16) Stephen Evans, (17) Jordan Bland, (18) Freddy Smith, (19) G.R. Smith, (20) Ray Jarnigan, (21) Craig Shuffield, (22) Luke Roffers, (23) Donald Bradsher, (24) Dan Breuer. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Bradsher, 16.873 seconds. Heat race winners: J. Smith, Breuer, Ferguson, Bowen. Consolation winners: Shuffield, Ogle. Provisional starters: Jarnigan, Roffers, Franklin, Sessoms.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728