Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Jackson Motor Speedway

Merchant rules Jackson for first MSCCS victory

August 1, 2010, 10:08 pm
From track reports

BYRAM, Miss. (July 31) — Third-starting Kenny Merchant of West Monroe, La., grabbed the lead on the first lap at Jackson Motor Speedway and raced to a 50-lap victory on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series. Merchant earned $2,500 for his first career MSCCS victory.

Series points leader David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., rallied to finish second at the tight quarter-mile oval south of Jackson. Jeremy Broadus of Biloxi, Miss., was third followed by Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss., and Chad Thrash of Meridian, Miss., who rallied from the rear after stalling on the third lap. Polesitter Jimmy Cliburn of Star, Miss., ended up 11th.

Merchant started inside the second row but pulled ahead exiting turn two on the first lap and never gave up the lead.

Notes: Merchant's Trak-Star chassis is powered by Wall 2 Wall Performance Engines and sponsored by, J.D. Caver & Company, TWM Racing Products, J&J Motorsports, Henry's Auto Salvage & Bayou Fabricators. ... Runner-up David Breazeale rebounded from carburetor problems that knocked him out of contention in the dash. ... The series added an Oct. 3 event at Jackson paying $3,000 to the winner.

MSCCS @ Jackson: (1) Kenny Merchant, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Jeremy Broadus, (4) Steve Bryan, (5) Chad Thrash, (6) George Paul, (7) Joseph Joiner, (8) Keith Miller, (9) Jason Cliburn, (10) Timmie Culp, (11) Jimmy Cliburn, (12) Randy Boyd Thompson, (13) Brad Banes, (14) Jeremy Glasgow, (15) Mark Paul, (16) Leon Henderson, (17) Tony Barnett, (18) Daniel Moore, (19) Henry Cooper, (20) Edmond Jenkins, (21) David Williamson, (22) Al Thomas. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Jason Cliburn, 16.066 seconds. Consolation race winners: Paul, Thrash. Dash winner: Jimmy Cliburn.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728