Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lake Cumberland Speedway

Lee edges Marlar for NASRA victory at Burnside

August 1, 2010, 7:44 am
By Michael Despain
National All Star Racing Association

BURNSIDE, Ky. (July 31) — Victor Lee of Danville, Ky., overtook Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., on the 37th of 40 laps Saturday at Lake Cumberland Speedway for a $3,000 victory on the National All Star Racing Association.

Marlar, who led laps 9-36, got too high exiting turn two on the 37th lap, opening the door for Lee the take command.

Marlar settled for second ahead of younger brother Skylar while polesitter Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., and series points leader Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, Ga., rounded out the top five. Outside front-row starter Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio, led the first eight laps but slowed with mechanical problems two laps after losing the lead.

Michael Chilton of Harrodsburg, Ky., rallied from his 17th starting spot into the top five, but he retired with an oil lead during a lap-31 caution period.

Four cautions slowed the action, none for serious incidents. Mark Walters spun on the third lap, Chase McWhorter spun on the seventh lap and Chinn’s departure brought out a lap-10 yellow. The final yellow appeared for Daniel Shelton’s lap-31 spin.

Notes: Lee’s Rayburn Race Car used GM’s CT525 all-aluminum crate engine; it’s sponsored by Keltner Contracting Heating and Cooling, Xtreme Style Signs and Graphics and American Racer Tires. .... Skylar Marlar’s seventh-to-third run gave him hard charger honors. ... Next up for NASRA competitors is a $2,000-to-win event Aug. 6 at Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, Ohio.

NASRA Blowout: (1) Victor Lee, (2) Mike Marlar, (3) Skylar Marlar, (4) Justin Rattliff, (5) Aaron Ridley, (6) Todd Coffman, (7) Johnny Wheeler, (8) Chase McWhorter, (9) David Webb, (10) Arnie Fields, (11) Gary Yeager, (12) Greg Hansford, (13) Mark Walters, (14) Daniel Shelton, (15) Michael Chilton, (16) Joe Patrick, (17) Nick Claborn, (18) Wayne Chinn, (19) Mike Strunk. Scratched: Scott Wells. Fast qualifier (among 20 cars): 13.158 seconds. Heat race winners: M. Marlar, Rattliff, Chinn.

NASRA points

(Through July 31)
1. Aaron Ridley - 2,314
2. David Webb - 2,260
3. Arnie Fields - 2,242
4. Skylar Marlar - 2,187
5. Christian Rayburn - 1,667
6. Bobby Wolter Jr. - 1,512
7. Justin Rattliff - 1,504
8. Victor Lee - 1,284
9. Mike Marlar - 1,150
10. Wayne Chinn - 1,145
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728