Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

R.J. races to another North Georgia victory

July 25, 2010, 12:31 pm
From series reports
Ronnie Johnson (5) battles Randy Weaver (116). (mikessportsimages.com)
Ronnie Johnson (5) battles Randy Weaver (116). (mikessportsimages.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (July 24) — Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., clicked off his series-high third Southern Regional Racing Series victory of the season Saturday at North Georgia Speedway. The fourth-starting Johnson earned $3,000 for his second special event victory of the season at the third-mile oval. | Slideshow

Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., rallied from 14th to finish second while hometown driver Derek Ellis advanced seven positions to finish third. Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., and 11th-starting Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., rounded out the top five.

Polesitter Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., was 20th and led early in the 40-lapper before mechanical problems forced him out.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Miller Bros. Coal, Simmons Lawn Care, American Billet and Transport One. ... Johnson won a May 29 Volunteer Racing Series event at North Georgia. ... His previous SRRS victories came April 17 at Green Valley Speedway in Glencoe, Ala., on April 17 and Duck River Speedway in Wheel, Tenn., on May 30. ... Among drivers failing to make the North Georgia main event: Ty Dillon, Rick Hixson, Mike Hill and Rodney Weeks. ... Next up for SRRS competitors is a $3,000-to-win event at Green Valley on July 30.

SRRS @ North Georgia: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Riley Hickman, (3) Derek Ellis, (4) Skip Arp, (5) Brandon Kinzer, (6) Jay Brinkley, (7) Kevin Gibson, (8) Brad Coffey, (9) Chris Brown, (10) Anthony Burroughs, (11) Gary McPherson, (12) Bobby Mayse, (13) Shawn Chastain, (14) Mike Weeks, (15) Josh Putnam, (16) Jacob Grizzle, (17) Tony Morris, (18) Brett Wyatt, (19) Todd Morrow, (20) Randy Weaver, (21) David Payne, (22) Gabe Wilson, (23) Dusty Carver, (24) Bobby Giffin. Fast qualifiers (group qualifying among 32 cars): Payne, Weaver, Gibson. Consolation race winners: Ellis, Kinzer, Putnam. Provisional starters: Morris, Grizzle.

Correction: FIxes winning purse for Green Valley.

SRRS points

(Through July 24)
1. Tony Morris - 3,495
2. Jacob Grizzle - 3,435
3. Anthony Burroughs - 3,430
4. Josh Putnam - 2,945
5. Eric Hickerson - 2,430
6. Jay Brinkley - 2,080
7. Jimmy Tucker - 1,970
8. Ronnie Johnson - 1,965
9. Brandon King - 1,765
(tie) Ray McElhiney - 1,765
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728