Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Weaver rallies from 11th to win $4,000 at Boyd's

July 17, 2010, 8:45 am
From series and track reports

RINGGOLD, Ga. (July 16) — Reigning series champion Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., overtook race-long leader Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., with seven laps remaining at Boyd’s Speedway for his third Southern All Star Racing Series victory the season. Weaver, who started 11th in the 24-car field, earned $4,000 in the Summer Slammer 40 in notching his 14th career series victory. | Slideshow

Weaver broke into the top five after just nine laps, reached the second spot halfway through the feature and then tracked down Hollingsworth, who lowered the track record in time trials.

“This was a brand new car we brought tonight and we got behind and missed hot laps, so qualifying was the first laps on it,” Weaver said. "Josh and the guys worked hard and got it right for the B-Main and then we just tweaked on it for the feature.

"We had to really work our tails off to get this win. I wasn’t real sure we were gonna be able to get Ronny Lee there, but with about 10 to go it seemed like we got pretty equal on lap times.”

Hollingsworth ended up pulling out with an overheating car in the final laps, handing the runner-up spot to Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Tenn. Jake Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., who held the second spot early in the race, finished third followed by Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, Ga. Three-time series champion Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., was fifth.

Notes: Weaver’s Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Race Engine Design Racing Engine and is sponsored by Byrd’s Radiator, The Bailey Company, Compton Company, BKW Disaster Recovery, Gunter Drywall, Ellis Contracting, VP Race Fuel, Hoosier Race Tires, Ohlins Shocks and Bert Transmissions. ... The 29-car field represented nine states. ... A heavy downpour early in the evening delayed the program two hours. ... The checkered flag flew on the feature at 11:32 p.m. ... Ronny Lee Hollingsworth’s quick time of 13.179 seconds lowered Billy Ogle Jr.’s previous track record of 13.320 seconds set last year. ... Six yellow flags and one red flag (for Brandon Kinzer) slowed the feature. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Jason Welshan, Travis Varnadore, Todd Morrow, Charles Hurst and Jamie Oliver. ... The Southern All Stars moved to Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway on Saturday for the 20th annual Budweiser Jean Johnson Memorial, a $5,000-to-win event paying tribute to the late first lady of the track.

Summer Slammer 40: (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Chad Ogle., (3) Jake Knowles, (4) Shane Clanton, (5) Ronnie Johnson, (6) David Payne, (7) Chris Wilson, (8) Rick Hixson, (9) Chris Brown, (10) Doug Smith, (11) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (12) Mark Vineyard, (13) Riley Hickman, (14) Skip Arp, (15) Freddy Smith, (16) Mike Weeks, (17) Kevin Gibson, (18) Derek Ellis, (19) Shanon Buckingham, (20) Daniel Baggerly, (21) Jamie Perry, (22) Kerry Jones, (23) Scott Creel, (24) Brandon Kinzer. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Hollingsworth, 13.179 seconds. Consolation race winner: Weaver, Vineyard.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728