Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Crawford County Speedway

Frye beats field, rain for Crawford County victory

June 28, 2010, 8:05 pm
From series reports

VAN BUREN, Ark. (June 26) — Bill Frye overcame Mother Nature and a Comp Cams Mid-South Racing Association field at Crawford County Speedway for a flag-to-flag victory on Saturday night. Frye earned $2,000 for the 40-lap victory on a night when late evening rain showers almost nixed the first-ever series visit to the 3/8-mile oval.

Frye got the jump on polesitter Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., and used the rain-enhanced cushion in racing to victory. Floyd settled for second ahead of series points leader Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., who outran Frye the previous night in MSRA action at Beebe, Ark. Frye’s former teammate Johnny Virden was fourth and fellow Russellville, Ark., driver Dewaine Hottinger rounded out the top five. Three cautions slowed the action.

Notes: Frye’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Kuntz & Co. Power, Petroff Towing and Auto Xpress. ... Frye’s seventh career MSRA victory ties him with Kyle Beard, who won his seventh on Friday. ... After showers nearly forced the race’s cancellation, track and series officials worked diligently to get the track ready for action. ... Series rookie Brandon Smith of Flora, Ark., was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger, starting 14th and finishing eighth. ... Joey Mack had tough luck for the second straight night. A oil fire hampered him in his heat race and in the main event, the oil leak soaked a tire, causing him to jump the cushion. He rebounded to finish seventh. ... MSRA competitors return to action July 9-10 at Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, La., and 67 Speedway in Texarkana, Ark.

Comp Cams MSRA @ Crawford County: (1) Bill Frye, (2) Jeff Floyd, (3) Kyle Beard, (4) Johnny Virden, (5) Dewaine Hottinger, (6) Jon Mitchell, (7) Joey Mack, (8) Brandon Smith, (9) Ian Samuels, (10) Jon Kirby, (11) Larry Campbell, (12) Shane Stephens, (13) Eddie Martin, (14) Mark Stephens, (15) Stormy Derryberry, (16) Clay Fisher, (17) Eddie Provence, (18) Randy Russell, (19) Brandon Cheek, (20) Ray Peacock, (21) Charlie Cole, (22) Colton Dunlap. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Frye, Floyd, Virden.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728