Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lone Star Speedway

Litton dominates SUPR stop at Lone Star

June 1, 2010, 8:23 am
By Bryan Wimberley
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

KILGORE, Texas (May 30) — Polesitter Rob Litton of Alexandria, La., led all 40 laps Sunday at Lone Star Speedway for a $2,500 victory on the Southern United Professional Racing tour. Litton took the checkers 3.5 seconds ahead of home-state driver Chris Holley for his 20th career SUPR victory.

"They were going to have to go around me on the outside tonight if they wanted to pass me," said Litton, who won the last race of SUPR's Memorial Day weekend tripleheader. "I wasn't going to give them the bottom. It really was a little bit one-laned, it was actually good for us starting on the front."

Holley, who started on the front row, was second in a race with several drivers dropping out, allowing surviving competitors who started deep in the field to record good finishes. Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas, advanced four positions to finish third while Allen Tippen of Minden, La., made a 12th-to-fourth run. Rookie Josh Danzy of Heflin, La., charged from his 21st starting spot to round out the top five and secure hard charger honors.

Litton took command at the outset while Ronny Adams, the weekend-opening winner in Sterlington, La., exited with a smoking car. Ricky Ingalls stayed with Litton early as the top two edged away from the field over the first 10 laps.

After a lap-13 caution for Donald Watson's engine woes, action heated up mid-pack among Tippen, Tom Lorenz and Kyle Cummings while Litton stayed out front.

The frontrunners entered lapped traffic on lap 24 and Litton built his lead to four seconds over Ingalls before a lap-33 caution for Cummings in turn four. A five-car scramble on the restart in turn halted action again as Jeff Chanler spun to the inside of turn four, collecting Ray Moore, Robbie Stuart, David Ashley and Lorenz.

Holley took second from Ingalls on the restart, and Ingalls was black-flagged for rough driving tactics in trying to answer the move. Litton was on cruise control up front and wrapped up the victory that put him in the SUPR points lead.

Notes: Litton's Rocket Chassis is powered by Wall 2 Wall Performance Engines and is sponsored by LMS Truck Center, AFCO, Shy Racing Equipment, Litton Motor Sports, Stuckey Enterprises, Larry Grayson & Son Trucking and TWM Racing Products. ... Litton leads the series points over Kyle Cummings, who finished 16th. ... Litton's 20 career victories tie him for sixth all time with Howard Willis. ... Litton's other SUPR win at Lone Star Speedway came in 2004. ... The 32-minute feature had four cautions and ended at 10:58 p.m. ... Eight cars finished on the lead lap with just 9 of 22 starters running at the finish. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Trey Beene, Wesley Chandler, Patrick Daniel, Jason Ingalls, Doug Ivey, Wayman McMillan, Clay McWilliams, Robbie Starnes and Bryan Sugg. ... Two drivers making the most progress in the main event were Doug Begnaud of Cypress, Texas (17th-to-sixth) and Robbie Stuart of DeRidder, La. (20th-to-eighth). ... The events marked the 48th SUPR visit to the east Texas racetrack, despite a five-year hiatus between 2004 and 2009. ... Tempers flared in two separate incidents during heat races. In the third heat, Kyle Cummings and Clay McWilliams tangled in turn two. McWilliams retaliated by running into Cummings' car under caution, and Cummings climbed from his car to confront McWilliams; the drivers were disqualified from the heat. ... In the fourth heat, a fight broke out following a Wesley Chanler-Jason Ingalls wreck in turn one, not far from where Ingalls' team was pitted in the infield. Track and series officials rushed to break up the melee which also included Chanler's brother Jeff, who was racing in the same heat and climbed from his car to join the fray. The fracas delayed action more than 15 minutes. ... Next up for SUPR competitors is a June 12 stop at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

SUPR @ Lone Star: (1) Rob Litton, (2) Chris Holley, (3) Kevin Sitton, (4) Allen Tippen, (5) Josh Danzy, (6) Doug Begnaud, (7) Jon Mitchell, (8) Robbie Stuart, (9) Paul Joyner, (10) Ricky Ingalls, (11) Jeff Chanler, (12) Alex Ashley, (13) Ray Moore, (14) Tom Lorenz, (15) David Ashley, (16) Kyle Cummings, (17) Darin Patrick, (18) Donald Watson, (19) Skip O'Neal, (20) Chris Brown, (21) Jason Trevathan, (22) Ronny Adams. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Holley, R. Ingalls, Litton, A. Ashley. Consolation winners: Begnaud, Cummings. Provisional starters: Danzy, O'Neal.

O'Reilly SUPR points

(Through May 30)
1. Rob Litton - 869
2. Kyle Cummings - 801
3. Robbie Stuart - 760
4. Ray Moore - 677
5. Jeff Chanler - 674
6. David Ashley, Jr - 632
7. Allen Tippen - 574
8. Kevin Sitton - 572
9. Josh Danzy - 558
10. Chris Holley - 540
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728