Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Texarkana 67 Speedway

Frye survives deflating tire, completes sweep

May 9, 2010, 5:44 pm
By Ben Shelton
Mid-South Racing

TEXARKANA, Ark. (May 8) — Another two-race weekend on the Comp Cams Mid-South Racing Association, another weekend sweep for an Arkansas driver.

Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., survived a late-race challenge and a deflating right-rear tire at 67 Speedway for his second straight MSRA victory on Saturday to pocket $2,000. Frye's victory, along with Friday's win at USA Speedway in Sterlington, La., duplicated Billy Moyer Jr.'s April 9-10 series sweep.

Outside front-row starter Jon Mitchell of nearby Texarkana, Texas, finished second followed by polesitter Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., who led the first three laps before Frye took command. Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., rallied from his seventh-row starting spot to finish fourth and Brandon Smith of Flora, Ark., rounded out the top five.

Frye was in control after the fourth lap and ran 22 caution-free circuits before Bryan Sugg slowed to draw a yellow. Frye again pulled away on the restart and led the pack while Beard worked his way into the top five.

The final caution waved for a slowing Shane Harris on lap 36, and it was clear during the caution period that Frye's right-rear tire was losing air. With Frye fighting an ill-handling car, Floyd and Mitchell pounced, but Frye held on by a half-car length over Mitchell at the checkers.

Moyer, the reigning series champion who won the season's first races at Beebe (Ark.) Speedway and Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark., finished sixth.

Notes: Frye's Rocket chassis is powered by Kuntz & Company and is sponsored by Vita Tub, Petroff Towing, O.H. Hendricks and Integra Shocks & Springs. ... The Quartermaster Hard Luck award went to Stormy Derryberry, whose night got off to a bad start as a brake caliper broke, resulting in extensive damage. ... Besides Derryberry, other drivers failing to make the feature were Thomas Dacus and Nate Jantz. ... MSRA competitors take a break before a June 11-12 weekend at Malden (Mo.) Speedway and Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark. Both races pay $2,000 to the winner.

Comp Cams MSRA @ 67: (1) Bill Frye, (2) Jon Mitchell, (3) Jeff Floyd, (4) Kyle Beard, (5) Brandon Smith, (6) Billy Moyer Jr., (7) Joey Mack, (8) Cory Daugherty, (9) Jon Kirby, (10) Terry Henson, (11) Jamie Dacus, (12) Shane Stephens, (13) Jeff Sloan, (14) Shane Harris, (15) Joseph Long, (16) Eddie Provence, (17) Wesley Crutchfield, (18) Dewaine Hottinger, (19) Bryan Sugg, (20) Lee Davis. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Frye, Floyd, Mitchell, Hottinger. Consolation winner: Henson. Provisional starter: Crutchfield.

Comp Cams MSRA points

(Through May 8)
1. Billy Moyer Jr. - 470
2. Joey Mack - 459
3. Jon Mitchell - 451
4. Kyle Beard - 437
5. Bill Frye - 423
6. Jeff Floyd - 421
7. Brandon Smith - 383
8. Dewaine Hottinger - 371
9. Jeff Sloan - 355
10. Terry Henson - 354
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728