Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland County Speedway

Pursley takes Clash victory at Cleveland County

May 8, 2010, 8:22 pm
From track reports

LAWNDALE, N.C. (May 7) — Third-starting Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., grabbed a Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory Friday at Cleveland County Speedway. Pursley, who took command on the 15th lap, earned $4,000 for his second career series victory and first since last September at Carolina Speedway.

Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark., who started 14th, rallied to finish second. He was followed by Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., and Spartanburg, S.C., drivers Anthony Sanders and Jeff Cooke, who started 17th. Polesitter Chris Blackwell was forced out of the race while running sixth on the eighth lap because of a flat tire.

Cautions included a four-car wreck in turn two that included Dean Bowen, Craig Shuffield, Jay Sessoms and Brian Ledbetter on the eighth lap, and Randle Chupp's wreck into the turn-one wall on the 12th lap. Ricky Weeks blew a tire on the backstretch with three laps remaining.

Notes: Pursley's Barry Wright Race Car has a Clements engine and sponsorship from Pursley Grading. ... The event was held on a track that's been reconfigured in turns one and two with a track entrance added in turn three and the pits moved to the hill overlooking the backstretch. ... Chris Blackwell's lap of 18.844 seconds lowered the track record. ... Luke Roffers was second fast, his best ever qualifying performance on the series.

Carolina Clash @ Cleveland County: 1. Johnny Pursley, 2. Jared Landers, 3. Chris Ferguson, 4. Anthony Sanders, 5. Jeff Cooke, 6. Luke Roffers, 7. G.R. Smith, 8. Dennis Franklin, 9. Jim Rasey, 10. Jeff Smith, 11. Donald Bradsher, 12. Austin Dillon, 13. David Taylor, 14. Shawn Beasley, 15. Dean Bowen, 16. Ricky Weeks, 17. Robbie Bailey, 18. Brian Ledbetter, 19. Jay Sessoms, 20. Tim Allen, 21. Chris Blackwell, 22. Justin Labonte, 23. Randle Chupp, 24. Craig Shuffield. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Blackwell, 17.844 seconds. Consolation race winners: Franklin, Bowen.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728