Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Green Valley Speedway

Johnson rallies from 16th for Green Valley victory

April 18, 2010, 7:04 am
From series and team reports
Ronnie Johnson (5) moves around Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (18). (photobyconnie.com)
Ronnie Johnson (5) moves around Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (18). (photobyconnie.com)

GLENCOE, Ala. (April 17) — Rallying from the eighth row, Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., raced to victory Saturday at Green Valley Speedway for a $3,000 payday on the Southern Regional Racing Series.

The victory gave Johnson a personal weekend sweep with two racing organizations as he followed up Friday night's $3,000 payday on the fledgling Volunteer Racing Series at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga.

At Green Valley, Johnson overtook Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., to take command in a caution-plagued race with five lead changes. Hollingsworth, who started third, settled for second while polesitter Stacy Holmes finished third for the second straight night in the SRRS doubleheader near Gadsden.

Tony Morris of Murfreesboro, Tenn., was fourth and Anthony Burroughs of Muscle Shoals, Ala., advanced three positions to round out the top five. Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., who started outside the front row and was trying to duplicate Friday's victory, ended up sixth.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Vinson Racing Engine and sponsorship from Miller Bros. Coal, Simmons Lawn Care, American Billet and Transport One. ... Johnson captured his second career SRRS victory; his first came Sept. 2, 2007, at Moulton (Ala.) Speedway. ... Jake Knowles started 24th, had a flat on the first lap, and ended up eighth. ... Jason Hiett won the Crate Late Model feature. ... SRRS competitors head to Tennessee National Raceway in Hohenwald, Tenn., for a $5,000-to-win feature on April 30.

SRRS @ Green Valley: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (3) Stacy Holmes, (4) Tony Morris, (5) Anthony Burroughs, (6) Ray Cook, (7) Lee Sutton, (8) Jake Knowles, (9) Eric Wells, (10) Mike Collins, (11) Brandon King, (12) Chuck Proctor, (13) Eric Hickerson, (14) Jacob Grizzle, (15) Lamar Haygood, (16) Virgil Taylor, (17) Brett Wyatt, (18) Josh McGuire, (19) Chris Beck, (20) Kelly Hanvey, (21) Josh Putnam, (22) Brian Qualls, (23) Brian Reese, (24) Ray McElhiney. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Holmes. Consolation race winners: Burroughs, Proctor.

SRRS points

(Through April 17)
1. Jacob Grizzle - 1,210
2. Eric Hickerson - 1,185
3. Tony Morris - 1,155
4. Anthony Burroughs - 1,140
5. Brandon King - 1,130
6. Ray Cook - 1,060
7. Chuck Proctor - 1,035
8. Josh Putnam - 860
9. Ronnie Johnson - 820
10. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth - 810
Sponsor 1188
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728