Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Bay Raceway Park

Another Marlar cracks victory lane at East Bay

March 6, 2010, 3:17 am
From series and track reports
Winner Skylar Marlar (96) battles runner-up Aaron Ridley (525). (neilericmiller.com)
Winner Skylar Marlar (96) battles runner-up Aaron Ridley (525). (neilericmiller.com)

GIBSONTON, Fla. (March 5) — Matching his older brother with a Late Model victory at East Bay Raceway Park's 2010 Winternationals, Skylar Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., earned $3,000 Friday for a National All Star Racing Association victory at the third-mile oval near Tampa. | Slideshow

Marlar, a modified ace making just his sixth Late Model start, took the lead for good from fast qualifier Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, Ga., on the 20th of 25 laps for the victory on the second of three nights of NASRA action. Marlar's brother Mike earned $5,000 for a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory Feb. 1 at East Bay.

Ridley, who swapped the lead with Marlar much of the race, settled for second with Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., in third followed by Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio. J.R. Hotovy of Covert, Mich., rounded out the top five. Travis Varnadore of Dover, Fla., Thursday's feature winner, finished ninth.

Three cautions slowed the event, two of them on lap 16. A Jimmy Waldrop-Josh Peacock collision drew the first caution, and another tangle on lap 16 involved Jim O’Hara, David Schmauss and Wallace Peacock. The final yellow appeared for a slowing Arnie Fields on lap 21.

NASRA action and the 34th Winternationals wraps up Saturday with a $5,000-to-win feature. The track announced reduced ticket prices of $15 for adults and $5 for children for the finale.

NASRA @ East Bay: (1) Skylar Marlar, (2) Aaron Ridley, (3) Rodney Melvin, (4) Wayne Chinn, (5) J.R. Hotovy, (6) Bryan Bernhardt, (7) David Webb, (8) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (9) Travis Varnadore, (10) Terry Eaglin, (11) Steve Shaver, (12) Perry Brown, (13) Mavrick Varnadore, (14) Bobby Wolter Jr., (15) Arnie Fields, (16) Ryan Mitchell, (17) Russ Adams, (18) Jim O'Hara, (19) Josh Peacock, (20) Jimmy Waldrop, (21) Shan Smith, (22) Wallace Peacock, (23) David Schmauss. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Ridley, 16.214 seconds. Heat race winners: Ridley, Marlar, J. Peacock. Consolation winner: M. Varnadore. Provisional starter: Adams.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728