Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wythe Raceway

Rambo rumbles to Clash win, $5,000 at Wythe

September 20, 2009, 6:30 am
From series reports

RURAL RETREAT, Va. (Sept. 19) — Fast qualifier Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., led all 50 laps at Wythe Raceway for his third Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory of the season. Franklin pocketed $5,000 for the victory in the Countdown to the Cup event, the Clash's playoff-style stretch that wraps up the season.

Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., finished second followed by Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., Dan Breuer of Troutman, N.C., and Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C. Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton, N.C., in a tight points battle while gunning for his sixth consecutive series championship, was eighth.

Notes: Franklin's Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Hamrick's of Gaffney. ... The victory was Franklin's 18th of his career on the series. ... David Taylor, who finished 12th, won hard charger honors. ... Scott Neighbors wasn't able to start the feature and got the hard luck award. ... Next up for Clash competitors is a $5,000-to-win event at Lancaster (S.C.) Motor Speedway.

Carolina Clash @ Wythe: (1) Dennis Franklin, (2) Jonathan Davenport, (3) Chris Ferguson, (4) Dan Breuer, (5) Jeff Smith, (6) Daniel Baggerly, (7) Doug Sanders, (8) Tim Allen, (9) Ricky Weeks, (10) Jay Sessoms, (11) Ray Tucker, (12) David Taylor, (13) Ronnie Poole, (14) Luke Roffers, (15) Jimmy McCormick, (16) Craig Shuffield, (17) Daniel Moss, (18) Travis Greer, (19) Chris Chandler, (20) Gary East, (21) Joe Kelly, (22) Thomas Poole, (23) Kerry Jones, (24) Randy Harmon, (25) Justin Labonte. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Franklin, 17.231 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728