Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Travelers Rest Speedway

Roberts locks up third SAS East title at Travelers Rest

September 8, 2009, 10:08 am
From series reports

TRAVELERS REST, S.C. (Sept. 7) — Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., locked up his third straight O'Reilly Southern All Star East championship Monday with a flag-to-flag victory at Travelers Rest Speedway. Roberts earned $3,000 for the 30-lap victory on Labor Day.

Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., was second ahead of polesitter Jeff Cooke of Spartanburg, S.C., while ninth-starting Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., and David Smith of Inman, S.C., rounded out the top five.

Roberts has a big enough lead in the series points that he can skip the finale on Oct. 24 at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., and still maintain his edge over Monk Gulledge.

Notes: Roberts drives a Victory Circle Chassis by Moyer with sponsorship from Starrette Trucking, Cushman Paint & Body and PPM. ... The race was slowed by four cautions and lasted about 18 minutes. ... Doug Sanders got hard charger honors for his 14-to-eighth run. ... Jeff Cooke's fast qualifying time lowered the track record at the 3/8-mile oval. ... David Smith drove Mike Ashley's MasterSbilt Race Car. ... Ethan Hunter, usually driving a No. 101, had a No. 15 on his regular ride. ... Bill Morgan won the night's Crate Late Model feature.

SAS East @ Travelers Rest: (1) Casey Roberts, (2) Jeff Smith, (3) Jeff Cooke, (4) Dennis Franklin, (5) David Smith, (6) Kip Cochran, (7) Colby Cannon, (8) Doug Sanders, (9) Monk Gulledge, (10) Ethan Hunter, (11) Scott Creel, (12) Roger Lankford, (13) Anthony Sanders, (14) Zach Cox, (15) Timmy Cox, (16) Ricky Weeks, (17) Michael Akeson, (18) Furman Parton. Fast qualifier (among 18 cars): Cooke, 16.193 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728