Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Magnolia Motor Speedway

Wall wins at Magnolia for first O'Reilly SAS victory

August 31, 2009, 7:49 am
From series reports
Chris Wall (71) fights off Bub McCool (57j). (Scott Oglesby)
Chris Wall (71) fights off Bub McCool (57j). (Scott Oglesby)

COLUMBUS, Miss. (Aug. 30) — Polesitter Chris Wall of Holden, La., grabbed his first career victory on the O'Reilly Southern All Star Series with Sunday's flag-to-flag win at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Wall handled a heavy, fast surface at a track hit by rain earlier in the day by lowering the track record and winning the main event. | Slideshow

Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., and James Ward of Lettsworth, La., hung with the winner most of the way in finishing second and third while hometown driver Brian Rickman and Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Miss., rounded out the top five. Series points leader Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., started eighth but was one of 12 starters who failed to finish, dropping out in 19th.

Just half the field was still running at the checkers in a race slowed by several cautions, mostly for flat tires and single-car incidents.

Notes: Wall's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Wall 2 Wall Performance Engine and sponsorship from C&M Gator Farm, Gator Trax Boats and Stuckey Enterprises. ... Wall's team announced he'll field a car at Eldora Speedway's Sept. 9 Prelude all-star race for NASCAR youngster Joey Lagano; the team tested with Lagano early Saturday at Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway. ... Several early cautions slowed the action for flat tires. ... Wall's lap of 13.222 broke the track record at the 3/8-mile oval and he was one of only four drivers below the 14-second barrier. ... Next up for the Southern All Stars is a $10,000-to-win event Sept. 6 at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.

O'Reilly SAS @ Magnolia: (1) Chris Wall, (2) Bub McCool, (3) James Ward, (4) Brian Rickman, (5) Dean Carpenter, (6) Scott Slay, (7) Steve Bryan, (8) Ethan Hunter, (9) Mike Hill, (10) Randy Weaver, (11) Leon Henderson, (12) Neil Baggett, (13) Rick Rickman, (14) Anthony Burroughs, (15) Roger Shirley, (16) Ray Mauldin, (17) Dane Dacus, (18) Jason Cliburn, (19) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (20) Chris Ragan, (21) Skip Arp, (22) Chad Thrash, (23) William Thomas, (24) Todd Morrow. Fast qualifier (among 30 cars): 13.222 seconds. Consolation race winners: Weaver, Slay. Provisional starters: Shirley, Henderson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728