Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Ponderosa Speedway

Lee fends off Carrier, gets Ponderosa victory

August 1, 2009, 1:18 am
By Michael Despain
O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (July 31) — Leading the final 40 laps of Ponderosa Speedway's seventh annual John Bradshaw Memorial, Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., regained the points lead on the O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series. Lee earned $5,000 for the victory in a 50-lap race honoring the memory of the former promoter of the 3/8-mile, D-shaped oval.

Lee overtook Dustin Neat of Dunnville, Ky., on the 11th lap and fought off several challenges from Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., the rest of the way in winning his third series victory of the season and 10th of his career. Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., made it a three-car battle late but settled for third. David Webb of Nicholasville, Ky., who entered the race leading the series points, was fourth and Bobby Wolter Jr. of Lexington, Ky., rounded out the top five in a race slowed by three caution periods.

Neat started outside the front row and led until tangling with a slower car on the 11th lap, triggering a yellow. Lee inherited the lead and following a lap-12 caution for Dustin Linville's spin, the race ran green the rest of the way.

Action heated up among the frontrunners on the 30th lap as Carrier looked under Lee with Marlar just behind the lead duo. After clearing traffic for a few laps, the three were tightly bunched again on lap 35. Carrier moved up to challenge Lee in a side-by-side duel in the final 10 laps, mounting his final charge on lap 46. Lee saw Carrier's nose several times the final five laps, but maintained his lead en route to victory.

Notes: Lee drove a Steve West and Gary Craig-owned Rayburn Race Car with a Corder's Competition Engine and sponsorship from Quality Pawn, Advance Auto Parts, Kentucky’s Best Racing, West Towing and American Racer Tires. ... Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., made a 15th-to-seventh run to earn PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors. ... O'Reilly BoB competitors complete a doubleheader weekend with the $5,000-to-win Bluegrass 50 at Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, Ky.

John Bradshaw Memorial: (1) Victor Lee, (2) Eddie Carrier Jr., (3) Mike Marlar, (4) David Webb, (5) Bobby Wolter Jr., (6) Justin Rattliff, (7) Eric Wells, (8) Mike Jewell, (9) Jeff Watson, (10) Duane Chamberlain, (11) Dustin Neat, (12) Rick Combs, (13) Shon Flanary, (14) Aaron Hatton, (15) Michael Chilton, (16) Bobby Carrier Jr., (17) Shannon Thornsberry, (18) Doodle Farris, (19) Jason Keltner, (20) D.J. Wells, (21) Dustin Linville, (22) Johnny Wheeler, (23) Terry Keltner. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Carrier, 14.749 seconds. Heat race winners: Neat, Lee, Webb. Consolation winners: Wheeler. Provisional starters: Hatton, J. Keltner, T. Keltner.

O’Reilly BoB points

(Through July 31)
1. Victor Lee - 2,288
2. David Webb - 2,255
3. Mike Marlar - 1,917
4. Aaron Hatton - 1,824
5. Bobby Wolter Jr. - 1,712
6. Michael Chilton - 1,698
7. Dustin Neat - 1,666
8. Mike Jewell - 1,632
9. Eric Wells - 1,433
10. Justin Rattliff - 1,398
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728