Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Batesville Motor Speedway

Frye halts MARS skid with co-sanctioned win at Batesville

July 25, 2009, 6:48 am
By Brian Garrison
O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series
Frye waves to the Batesville crowd. (Ron Mitchell)
Frye waves to the Batesville crowd. (Ron Mitchell)

LOCUST GROVE, Ark. (July 24) — Continuing a resurgence with his renewed focus on racing, veteran Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., raced to victory Friday at Batesville Motor Speedway in an event co-sanctioned by the O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series and O'Reilly Mid-South Racing Association. | Slideshow

The 48-year-old Frye, a five-time MARS champion, notched his 35th career series victory but his first since Sept. 22, 2007. He also has four career MSRA victories.

At Batesville's 3/8-mile oval, Frye started fifth and methodically marched his way forward, overtaking polesitter and protege Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., on the 13th lap and leading the rest of the way for a $2,000 check. Vaught settled for second followed by hometown Hall of Famer Bill Moyer. Springfield, Mo., teammates Jeremy Payne and Terry Phillips rounded out the top five finishers.

Notes: Frye's GRT Race Car has a Kuntz & Co. engine and sponsorship from Petroff Towing, Bo Air, Vita Tub, O.H. Hendricks and Integra Shocks and Springs. ... MARS points leader Eric Turner of Springfield, Mo., was going for the lead in turn three in a heat race when he hit a rut and ripped the right rear wheel off the car; he wasn't injured. ... Robbie Stuart was disqualified from the third heat after weighing in light at the scales. ... MARS and MSRA complete the two-race weekend at Batesville with a $2,500-to-win event on Saturday night.

MARS-MSRA @ Batesville: (1) Bill Frye, (2) Will Vaught, (3) Billy Moyer, (4) Jeremy Payne, (5) Terry Phillips, (6) Billy Moyer Jr., (7) Jeff Floyd, (8) Ray Moore, (9) Jack Sullivan, (10) Brandon McCormick, (11) Michael Murphree, (12) Gary Christian, (13) Jon Kirby, (14) Eric Turner, (15) Darrell Mooneyham, (16) Dewaine Hottinger, (17) Leroy Johnson, (18) Kyle Beard, (19) Rylan Long, (20) Tony Jackson Jr., (21) Jon Mitchell, (22) Justin Asplin. Heat race winners (among 34 cars): Vaught, Frye, Moyer, Phillips. Consolation winners: Beard, Christian. Provisional starters: Turner, Johnson, Kirby, Hottinger.

Correction: Fixes positions sixth-through ninth in the feature rundown.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728