Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Wall wins at Whynot after Baggett is penalized

July 19, 2009, 6:15 pm
By Scott White
Whynot Motorsports Park
Chris Wall celebrates at Whynot. (customcreationsgraphics.com)
Chris Wall celebrates at Whynot. (customcreationsgraphics.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (July 18) — Polesitter Chris Wall notched his series-leading fifth victory of 2009, taking the lead from hometown driver Jim McDuffie following a lap-15 restart and leading the rest of the 50-lap Mississippi State Championship Challenge feature. Wall earned $2,500 for his 30th career series victories, tops in MSCC history. | Slideshow

"We earned this one" said Wall, whose 12.922-second qualifying lap was a rare lap at Whynot under the 13-second mark.

Ninth-starting Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss., pressured Wall through much of the race, but after a lengthy battle among the frontrunners in traffic, a lap-44 caution appeared and Baggett was black-flagged for climbing out of his car to dispute a ruling. Baggett had been ordered to restart on the tail after a tangle with a lapped car.

David Ashley of Zachary, La., moved up to finished second followed by hometown driver and series points leader Chad Thrash. McDuffie, who started outside the front row was fourth followed by Jason Cliburn of Star, Miss. Baggett was listed 15th in the final rundown.

Notes: Wall's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Wall 2 Wall Performance Engine and sponsorship from C&M Gator Farm, Gator Trax Boats and Stuckey Enterprises. ... Four of Wall's 30 MSCC victories have come at Whynot. ... Neil Baggett was penalized for breaking a sacred rule at Whynot in climbing from his car during a caution period (it's only allowed under red-flag conditions). The track rule harkens back to a race 15 years ago when the late John L. Cliett had both legs broken on the backstretch when he climbed out to check something on his car. ... MSCC competitors run July 24-25 at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway and Central Mississippi Speedway in Winona.

MSCC @ Whynot: (1) Chris Wall, (2) David Ashley, (3) Chad Thrash, (4) Jim McDuffie, (5) Jason Cliburn, (6) Scott Slay, (7) Scott Creel, (8) Scott Dedwylder, (9) Keith Miller, (10) Wiley Williams, (11) Rodney Wing, (12) Rodney Gaines, (13) Mickey Trosclair, (14) Leon Henderson, (15) Neil Baggett, (16) Chris McElhenney, (17) Jeremy Broadus, (18) Chris Noah, (19) Justin McRee, (20) Craig Turan, (21) Chris Hoomes, (22) Steve Bryan. Fast qualifier: Wall, 12.922 seconds. Consolation race winners: Baggett, Slay. Dash winner: Wall.

MSCC points

(Through July 18)
1. Chad Thrash - 1,380
2. Scott Slay - 1,280
3. David Ashley - 1,210
4. Neil Baggett - 1,040
5. Steve Bryan - 1,015
6. Jeremy Broadus - 1,010
7. Chris Wall - 985
8. Mickey Trosclair - 975
9. Keith Miller - 810
10. Charles Gaines - 720
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728