Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Volusia Speedway Park

Lloyd edges Fitzgerald, wins Scott Thompson Memorial

June 28, 2009, 6:00 am
From series reports

BARBERVILLE, Fla. (June 27) — Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., won a wild back-and-forth exchange with Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, Fla., over the last 15 laps at Volusia Speedway Park to capture his third United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series victory of the season and second in a row.

Lloyd, who started fourth at the half-mile oval in a David Clegg-owned car, earned $3,800 and a special guitar trophy for winning the fourth annual Scott Thompson Memorial, honoring the late 2005 Volusia Late Model track champion who died in a non-racing accident.

“I had to work pretty hard for that one," Lloyd said in victory lane. "Jason is a really good race car driver. It really means a lot to me to win this one."

The ninth-starting Fitzgerald settled for second in a race with more than a half-dozen lead changes. Series points leader Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., was third while Darrell Padgett of Jacksonville and Richard Ferry of Macclenny, Fla., rounded out the top five. Polesitter Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., finished 16th.

Nosbisch led the first lap, but Whitener took command early with Lloyd quickly moving into second. Nosbisch was caught up in the first caution in a turn-one spin with Adam Bennett and fell from contention, and on the restart, Fitzgerald worked his way into the mix up front.

Lloyd and Fitzgerald battled hard the final 15 laps, setting up a thrilling finish. As the leaders went under the white flag, Fitzgerald slid high in turn one to avoid a lapped car, and Lloyd took advantage to take the victory. Whitener finihed nearly a straightaway behind in third.

Scott Thompson Memorial: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Jason Fitzgerald, (3) Mark Whitener, (4) Darrell Padgett, (5) Richard Ferry, (6) Johnny Collins, (7) Tyler Ivey, (8) Matt Hartley, (9) Dillon Wood, (10) Shan Smith, (11) John Kellum, (12) Joe Kump, (13) Lawton Minchew, (14) Russell Brown Jr., (15) Stephen Castleberry, (16) Keith Nosbisch, (17) Stanton Mills, (18) Kevin Durden, (19) Kent Corbin, (20), Clay Bedenbaugh, (21) John Rankin, (22) Adam Bennett, (23) Adam Bedenbaugh, (24) Patrick Williams, (25) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (26) Chris Freeman. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): Brown. Heat race winners: Lloyd, K. Nosbisch, Ivey, J. Nosbisch. Consolation winners: P. Williams, Smith.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728