Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Smoky Mountain Speedway

Hill becomes first two-time TTDCS winner

June 21, 2009, 12:55 pm
From series reports
Vic Hill celebrates in Maryville, Tenn. (dt52photos.com)
Vic Hill celebrates in Maryville, Tenn. (dt52photos.com)

MARYVILLE, Tenn. (June 20) — Polesitter Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn., led all 40 laps at Mountain Raceway to become the season's first two-time winner on the Tennessee Thunder DirtCar Series. Hill, the only drive to break 17 seconds in qualifying at the 4/10-mile oval, earned $3,000. | Slideshow

Outside front-row starter Billy Ogle Jr. futilely chased Hill throughout the race in finishing second while several drivers mixed it up behind the top two, running side by side much of the distance. Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., finished third with Joe Armes of Petros, Tenn., and Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., rounding out the top five.

Hill also won the TTDCS season opener at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.

Notes: Hill's GRT Race Car has a Vic Hill Racing Engine with sponsorship from Landair Transport, Qualcomm, Pilot and Fast Lane Racing Graphics. ... The race was slowed by three cautions and lasted just 17 minutes with the checkered flag falling at 11:14 p.m. ... The event drew 28 drivers from five states. ... Anthony White's 23rd-to-15th run gave him hard charger honors. ... Next up for TTDCS competitors is a June 26 event at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga.

TTDCS @ Maryville: (1) Vic Hill, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Ronnie Johnson, (4) Joe Armes, (5) Randy Weaver, (6) Tommy Kerr, (7) Jamie Perry, (8) Mark Vineyard, (9) Stacy Boles, (10) Chad Ogle, (11) Jensen Ford, (12) Bobby Giffin, (13) David Payne, (14) Dan Tipton, (15) Anthony White, (16) Mike Hill, (17) John Ownbey, (18) Jeff Neubert, (19) Doug Smith, (20) Daniel Baggerly, (21) David Crabtree, (22) Michael Smith, (23) Dusty Carver, (24) Tim Huddleston. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Hill, 16.91 seconds. Dash winner: Hill, B. Ogle. Consolation winner: Giffin, Vineyard. Provisional starters: D. Smith, Neubert, White, M. Smith.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728