Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bubba Raceway Park

Lloyd captures Powell Memorial, hometown win

June 20, 2009, 5:32 am
By Chuck Green
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. drove David Clegg's car to victory. (cgphotographylargo.com)
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. drove David Clegg's car to victory. (cgphotographylargo.com)

OCALA, Fla. (June 19) — Hometown driver Ivedent Lloyd Jr. fought off Johnny Collins of Jacksonville, Fla., for a 75-lap victory in the 14th annual Powell Memorial at Ocala Speedway. Lloyd, who took control of the race on a lap-15 restart, earned $5,000 for his second United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series victory of the season. | Slideshow

Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., rallied from back in the pack after a flat tire to finish third ahead of Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, Fla., and Adam Bedenbaugh of Lake City, Fla., in a race slowed by 10 cautions. Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., led early but ended up 19th.

Notes: The event drew a capacity crowd. ... The Powell Memorial began in 1996 to honor the family members of former track owner James Powell III; six members of the family were killed in a June 1995 plane crash. ... Next up for UDLMCS competitors is the $3,800-to-win Scott Thompson Memorial on June 27 at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla.

Powell Memorial: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Johnny Collins, (3) Mark Whitener, (4) Dillon Wood, (5) Adam Bedenbaugh, (6) Jason Fitzgerald, (7) Devin Dixon, (8) Russell Brown, (9) Matt Hensley, (10) Jack Nosbisch, (11) Tyler Ivey, (12) Rich Pratt, (13) Brandon Dewitt, (14) Jimmy Waldrop, (15) Steven Roberts, (16) Kevin Durden, (17) Clay Bedenbaugh, (18) Wallace Peacock, (19) Keith Nosbisch, (20) Phillip Cobb, (21) Jeff Mathews, (22) Billy Costello, (23) Darrell Padgett, (24) Mike Bresnahan. Fast qualifier (among 41 cars): J. Nosbisch. Heat race winners: Waldrop, Whitener, Fitzgerald, Lloyd. Consolation winner: Ivey.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728