Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

DMP Speedway

Lloyd catches Whitener late for NLMS victory

June 15, 2009, 11:43 am
From series reports

DOUGLAS, Ga. (June 12-13) — With Mark Whitener's engine giving up in the late stages, five-time series champion Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., took over in the final five laps for a victory on the National Late Model Series at Douglas Motor Speedway. The fourth-starting Lloyd earned $5,000 for his first series victory since the 2007 season.

Whitener, the Middleburg, Fla., driver who took the lead from polesitter and fellow front-row starter Cale Simons of Albany, Ga., at the outset of the main event, salvaged a second-place finish with Simons finishing third. Johnny Collins of Jacksonville, Fla., was fourth and fast qualifier Russell Brown Jr. of Valdosta, Ga., rounded out the top five.

Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, who was looking for his fourth straight NLMS victory and sixth of the season, fell from contention when he got into mud low on the track and tangled with Simons. He ended up 10th.

Notes: NLMS points leader Brandon Cameron of Jacksonville, Fla., finished ninth. ... Rain hit during the first heat race on Friday night, pushing the remainder of the prelims to Saturday. ... Next up for NLMS competitors is a $3,000-to-win event on July 4 at Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, Ga.

NLMS @ Douglas: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Mark Whitener, (3) Cale Simons, (4) Johnny Collins, (5) Russell Brown Jr., (6) Brandon Dewitt, (7) Bo Allen, (8) Dillon Wood, (9) Brandon Cameron, (10) Jason Fitzgerald, (11) Robbie Cowart, (12) Mallory Harvey, (13) Adam Giles, (14) Chuck Chitty, (15) Kyle Bridges, (16) Charles Sealy, (17) Wayne Shugart, (18) Eric Register, (19) Houston Joiner, (20) Kitt Sealy, (21) Cole Exum, (22) Johne Green, (23) Jeffrey Baggett, (24) Chris Davis, (25) Cary Corbin, (26) Justin Weeks. Fast qualifier: Brown. Heat race winners: Brown, Dewitt, Lloyd, Fitzgerald.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728