Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Laurens County Speedway

Madden edges Franklin at Laurens Shrine Race

June 10, 2009, 1:02 am
From series reports

LAURENS, S.C. (June 9) — Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., overtook polesitter Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., on the 34th of 40 laps and went on to win the 29th annual Laurens County Shrine Race at Laurens County Speedway. Madden pocketed $3,000 in the Tuesday night special for his third victory in the last four events on the O'Reilly Southern All Star East tour.

Franklin settled for second while reigning series champion Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., started outside the front row and finished third. Larry Timms of Hodges, S.C., and Ethan Hunter of Tiger, Ga., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Madden drives a Clements-powered Bloomquist Race Car with sponsorship from Century Plastics, Cushman Paint & Body and Freeman Plumbing. ... Madden earned his series-best 16th career victory. ... John Pursley of Clover, S.C., wasn't able to qualify because of a broken rear hub and later scratched from the feature. ... The five-division program drew 56 cars overall. ... Next up for the series is another $3,000-to-win event on Friday, June 12, at Cleveland County Speedway in Lawndale, N.C.

Laurens County Shrine Race: (1) Chris Madden, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) Casey Roberts, (4) Larry Timms, (5) Ethan Hunter, (6) Johnny Pursley, (7) Larry Blankenship, (8) Frank Coates, (9) Billy Rushton, (10) Monk Gulledge, (11) Zach Cox, (12) Brandon Ifft, (13) Petey Ivey, (14) Colby Cannon, (15) Michael Akeson, (16) David McCoy, (17) Brett Hamm. Scratched: John Pursley. Fast qualifier (among 18 cars): Franklin, 14.711 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728