Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Albany Motor Speedway

Fitzgerald rules Albany for third straight NLMS victory

June 8, 2009, 11:42 am
From series reports

ALBANY, Ga. (June 6) — Fifth-starting Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, Fla., took command on the 37th lap Saturday at Albany Motor Speedway and led the rest of the way for his third consecutive victory on the National Late Model Series. Fitzgerald earned $3,000 for his fifth series victory of the season and eighth overall.

Polesitter Robbie Cowart of Savannah, Ga., DirtonDirt.comged spins and wrecks for 36 laps before giving up the lead to Fitzgerald, but he faded from contention and finished 12th. Outside front-row starter Steven Roberts finished second followed by fast qualifier Jeffrey Henry, Brandon Dewitt and Wayne Shugart.

Notes: Fitzgerald's Murrell Mixson-owned GRT Race Car has a Darren Walker engine and sponsorship from M&M Refrigeration Transport, Tire Kingdom and Bobby LaBonte Foundation. ... The event was a makeup from a May 16 rainout. ... Fast qualifier Jeffrey Henry picked up $100 from Racers’ Depot Online. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: John Greene, Adam Giles, Richard Souter and Terry Lumley. Gile picked up $400 for winning the non-qualifiers' race. ... Next up for NLMS competitors is a $5,000-to-win event at Douglas (Ga.) Motor Speedway on June 12-13.

NLMS @ Albany: (1) Jason Fitzgerald, (2) Steven Roberts, (3) Jeffrey Henry, (4) Brandon Dewitt, (5) Wayne Shugart, (6) Bo Allen, (7) Cale Simons, (8) Jay Carpenter, (9) Casey Barrow, (10) Brandon Cameron, (11) Jay Johnson, (12) Robbie Cowart, (13) Eric Register, (14) Evan Becton, (15) Charles Sealy, (16) Jeremy Faircloth, (17) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (18) J.R. Moseley, (19) Jeffrey Baggett, (20) Shan Smith, (21) Travis Pennington, (22) Earl Boyett, (23) Justin Weeks, (24) Stacey Roberts. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): Henry. Consolation race winners: Johnson, Moseley, Pennington. Provisional starter: Baggett, Register. Non-qualifiers' race winner: Adam Giles.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728