Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Polesitting Griffin grabs first SRRS victory

June 1, 2009, 8:30 am
From series reports

EASTABOGA, Ala. (May 30) — Dingus Griffin of Alexandria, Ala., started on the pole at Talladega Short Track and raced to his first career victory on the Southern Regional Racing Series. Griffin topped fourth-starting Billy Mayo of Cleveland, Tenn., for a $3,000 payday at the third-mile oval. Mayo pulled alongside Griffin on the white-flag lap, but couldn't complete the pass.

Former track champion Terry Smith of Anniston, Ala., started fifth and finished third while ninth-starting Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., and 12th-starting Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., rounded out the top five. The top-finishing Tennessee driver in the event on the Tennessee-based series was Chris Ragan of Ramer, Tenn., in seventh. SRRS points leader Jay Brinkley of Shelbyville, Tenn., started outside the front row but faded to eighth.

SRRS @ Talladega: (1) Dingus Griffin, (2) Billy Mayo, (3) Terry Smith, (4) Tim Busha, (5) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (6) Ted Lackey, (7) Chris Ragan, (8) Jay Brinkley, (9) Brandon Kinzer, (10) Eric Turner, (11) Randy Weaver, (12) Chris Jones, (13) Corey Posey, (14) Tony Morris, (15) Tyler Landers, (16) David Seibers, (17) Danny Peoples, (18) Doug King, (19) Dillon Crim, (20) Jimmy Tucker, (21) Randall Walker, (22) Josh Putnam, (23) Ronnie Johnson, (24) Ross Martin. Disqualified: Tony Knowles.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728