Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Paris Motor Speedway

Sitton doesn't forget Paris in notching $2,000 win

May 23, 2009, 5:49 am
By Bryan Wimberley
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

PARIS, Texas (May 22) — Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas., overtook polesitter Lee Davis of Greenwood, La., on the fifth lap and went unchallenged the rest of the 40-lapper for for his first O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing tour victory of the season. Sitton, who has four career SUPR victories, earned $2,000 for the 40-lap victory, the first race of a tripleheader holiday weekend.

Davis took command at the outset and led the first four laps before the race's lone caution for Patrik Daniel of Willis Point, Texas, who spun out. Sitton went ahead on the restart and went on to his first series victory since Aug. 30, 2008, at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.

Outside front-row starter Ronny Adams of Greenwood ended up third while Kyle Cummings of Minden, La., and Robbie Stuart of DeRidder, La., rounded out the top five. Gary Scott Christian of Broken Bow, Okla., earned hard charger honors with his 17th-to-eighth run at the quarter-mile oval.

SUPR competitors continue the busy Memorial Day weekend schedule with events at Champion Park Speedway in Minden on Saturday and at Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas, on Sunday.

Notes: Sitton's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by E&D Dozer Works, J.D.’s Body Works, Best Auto Parts, All American Plumbing and Rutherford Racing. ... Sitton, last year's SUPR rookie of the year, had three victories in 2008. ... Sitton lapped all but a half-dozen or so competitors. ... A brief rain shower hit before the feature but didn't delay action. ... The feature ended about 1:30 a.m. ... Wendall Bolden of Greenville, Texas, who won last year's Sept. 20 event at Paris, failed to make the feature. ... Other drivers failing to make the feature were Michael Coleman, Darren Ellis and Devane Hillman. ... Sunday's scheduled event at Lone Star Speedway will be the first series event at the track since 2004.

O'Reilly SUPR @ Paris: (1) Kevin Sitton, (2) Lee Davis, (3) Ronny Adams, (4) Kyle Cummings, (5) Robbie Stuart, (6) Rob Litton, (7) Jeff Chanler, (8) Gary Scott Christian, (9) Ricky Ingalls, (10) Josh Danzy, (11) Tom Earl III, (12) Justin Ingalls, (13) Allen Tippen, (14) Jody Mayne, (15) Jon Mitchell, (16) Alan East, (17) Tyler Gottschalk, (18) Kennith Crowe, (19) Jason Ingalls, (20), Jeff Gandy, (21) Patrik Daniel. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Davis, R. Ingalls, Litton, Cummings. Consolation winner: Christian. Provisional starter: Mitchell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728