Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Drew County Speedway

Moore's demise boosts Moyer Jr. to MSRA win

May 17, 2009, 6:06 am
By Bryan Wimberley
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

MONTICELLO, Ark. (May 16) — Inheriting the lead during a late caution, series points leader Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., led the final four laps at Drew County Speedway for a $2,000 victory, his second of the season on the O'Reilly Mid-South Racing Association.

Outside front-row starter Ray Moore of Shreveport, La., had firm control of the event, but his car's engine flamed up during the second-to-last yellow flag, forcing him out of the race. Moyer led the rest of the way for a victory over Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark. Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., Kyle Cummings of Minden, La., and the previous night's winner, Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., rounded out the top five in the 40-lap main event.

Michael Murphree of North Little Rock, Ark., led early in the main event before cutting down a tire and handing the point to Moore.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Banner Valley Hauling, Imperial Motors and New Vision Graphics. ... His previous victory came April 11 at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark., when he made a last-lap pass of Howard Willis. ... Five cautions slowed the feature. Michael Murphree had a flat, Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, had a flat, Jeff Chanler of Minden, La., stalled, Ray Moore's car flamed up and Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., spun. ... MSRA competitors return to action June 12 at Malden (Mo.) Speedway.

O'Reilly MSRA @ Drew County: (1) Billy Moyer Jr., (2) Bill Frye, (3) Jeff Floyd, (4) Kyle Cummings, (5) Kyle Beard, (6) Jon Mitchell, (7) Dewaine Hottinger, (8) Jordan Jones, (9) Randy Mitchell, (10) Jon Kirby, (11) Austin Rettig, (12) Wesley Crutchfield, (13) Ray Moore, (14) Jeff Chanler, (15) Stormy Derryberry, (16) Clay Fisher, (17) Gary Scott Christian, (18) Josh Danzy, (19) Michael Murphree, (20) Jack Sullivan. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Moore, Floyd, Mitchell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728