Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Golden Isles Speedway

Fitzgerald grabs third NLMS victory of 2009

April 27, 2009, 1:03 pm
From series reports

BRUNSWICK, Ga. (April 25) — Overcoming a six-car inversion, fast qualifier Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, Fla., took the lead from Jeremy Faircloth midway through a 40-lap feature at Golden Isles Speedway to capture his third National Late Model Series event of the season. Fitzgerald earned $3,000 for the victory at the 4/10-mile oval in southeast Georgia.

Outside front-row starter Terry Lumley of Twin City, Ga., took the early lead, but he fell back after a lap-16 scramble with Jacksonville's Johnny Collins, handing the lead of Faircloth of Swainsboro, Ga. After a caution-filled stretch of action, Fitzgerald took command on the 19th lap and led the rest of the way.

Brandon Dewitt of Morven, Ga., advanced from his eighth starting spot to finish second with Jeffrey Henry, who started on the third row with Fitzgerald, in third. Polesitter Bo Allen of Bryceville, Fla., and Faircloth rounded out the top five finishers.

Notes: Fitzgerald's Murrell Mixson-owned GRT Race Car has a Darren Walker engine and sponsorship from Tire Kingdom, M&M Refrigeration and the Bobby Labonte Foundation. ... Fitzgerald won the NLMS season opener at Golden Isles on Jan. 29 and also on Feb. 21 at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga. ... NLMS series director Ray Miller, out of action after a recent open-heart surgery, was back at Golden Isles. ... Series rookie John Greene rallied from 14th to finish sixth; Green and Eric Register are tied in the rookie points chase. ... Brandon Cameron leads the series with 572 points over Johnny Collins (558) and Bo Allen (556). ... NLMS competitors head to Albany (Ga.) Motor Speedway for a $3,000-to-win event on May 16.

NLMS @ Golden Isles: (1) Jason Fitzgerald, (2) Brandon Dewitt, (3) Jeffrey Henry, (4) Bo Allen, (5) Jeremy Faircloth, (6) John Greene, (7) Brandon Cameron, (8) Wayne Shugart, (9) Robbie Cowart, (10) Robert Diekemper, (11) Adam Giles, (12) Terry Lumley, (13) Tyler Ivey, (14) Chuck Chitty, (15) Johnny Collins, (16) Patrick Williams, (17) Stephen Castleberry, (18) Cale Simons, (19) Dillon Wood, (20) Adam Parrish, (21) Justin Weeks, (22) Buddy Geiger, (23) Brad Comer, (24) Kyle Bridges, (25) Eric Register. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Fitzgerald. Provisional starter: Geiger.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728