Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Beebe Speedway

Wallace overtakes Turner for victory at Beebe

April 18, 2009, 1:40 am
From series reports
Wendell Wallace races toward victory at Beebe. (Ron Mitchell)
Wendell Wallace races toward victory at Beebe. (Ron Mitchell)

BEEBE, Ark. (April 17) — Wendell Wallace overtook Eric Turner just past the midpoint of the 40-lapper at Beebe Speedway for a $2,000 victory co-sanctioned by two O'Reilly Auto Parts-sponsored tours, the MARS DIRTcar Series and Mid-South Racing Association. | Slideshow

Eric Turner of Hermitage, Mo., led the first 22 laps of the caution-free main event, but Wallace took over on the 23rd lap and grabbed the checkered flag. Turner settled for second followed by Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo. Ray Moore of Shreveport, La., was fourth and the race's hard charger, Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., rounded out the top five. Polesitter Jeff Moss of Harrisburg, Ark., was seventh.

Notes: Wallace's Gaerte-powered GRT Race Car is sponsored by Wincrest Farms. ... Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., started eighth and ran as high as third, but he fell back to sixth while trying to make a move on runner-up Eric Turner with two laps remaining. ... A vibration in Bill Frye's car forced him out as the first retiree. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Stormy Derryberry, Jeff Sloan, Austin Rettig, Ross Camponovo and Rylan Long. ... MARS and MSRA competitors are scheduled to run Saturday, April 18, at West Plains (Mo.) Motor Speedway.

MARS-MSRA @ Beebe: (1) Wendell Wallace, (2) Eric Turner, (3) Tony Jackson Jr., (4) Ray Moore, (5) Jon Kirby, (6) Kyle Beard, (7) Jeff Moss, (8) David Ashley, (9) Billy Moyer Jr., (10) Dewaine Hottinger, (11) Gary Scott Christian, (12) Jack Sullivan, (13) Jeremy Payne, (14) Terry Phillips, (15) Joey Mack, (16) Jon Mitchell, (17) Brandon McCormick, (18) Jeff Floyd, (19) Randy Mitchell, (20) Darrell Mooneyham, (21) Dane Dacus, (22) Bill Frye. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Turner, Jackson, Moss, Wallace. Consolation winners: Phillips, Sullivan.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728