Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Batesville Motor Speedway

Wallace outduels Frye for SUPR victory at Batesville

April 15, 2009, 3:37 am
From series reports

BATESVILLE, Ark. (April 10) -- Hometown driver Wendell Wallace outdueled Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., at Batesville Motor Speedway for his first victory on the O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing tour since 1991. Wallace earned $2,500 in the 50-lap victory.

Frye, who started fourth, jumped into the lead at the outset to lead the first seven laps, but the polesitting Wallace fought past him on the eighth lap. Wallace extended his lead until lapped traffic slowed his progress, allowing Frye to close up and make a serious bid to regain the lead.

A lap-24 caution for Brian Ritchie of Newport, Ark., slowed the action, and Wallace was able to stay ahead of the three-wide racing behind him the rest of the way to post his third career O'Reilly SUPR victory. Frye settled for second followed by Howard Willis of Dayton, Texas. Eric Turner of Hermitage, Mo., was fourth and front-row starter Dewaine Hottinger of Russellville, Ark., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Wallace's GRT Race Car has a Gaerte powerplant and sponsorship from Wincrest Farms. ... The April 9 SUPR event at Batesville was rained out and won't be rescheduled. ... Wallace's first two SUPR victories came in 1990 in Houston and 1991 at Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas.

O'Reilly SUPR @ Batesville: (1) Wendell Wallace, (2) Bill Frye, (3) Howard Willis, (4) Eric Turner, (5) Dewaine Hottinger, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Stacy Taylor, (8) Michael Murphree, (9) Kyle Beard, (10) Jon Kirby, (11) Kevin Sitton, (12) Jon Mitchell, (13) David Ashley, (14) Ray Moore, (15) Robbie Stuart, (16) Gary Scott Christian, (17) Allen Tippen, (18) Kyle Cummings, (19) Eric Neal, (20) Lee Davis, (21) Jeff Chanler, (22) Brian Ritchie. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Hottinger, Wallace, Willis. Consolation winner: Moore.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728