Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tazewell Speedway

Hill leads 50 laps for first-ever TTDCS victory

April 5, 2009, 3:10 pm
From series reports
Vic Hill tells the Tazewell crowd about his flag-to-flag victory. (mrmracing.net)
Vic Hill tells the Tazewell crowd about his flag-to-flag victory. (mrmracing.net)

TAZEWELL, Tenn. (April 4) — Polesitter Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn., got the jump on front-row starter Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., at Tazewell Speedway and rolled to his first-ever victory on the Tennessee Thunder DirtCar Series. Hill, who set fast time and won a dash, earned $3,000 for his dominating 50-lap victory at the high-banked oval. | Slideshow

Ogle settled for second while reigning series champion Rick Rogers of Knoxville finished third at the third-mile oval near the Kentucky-Tennessee line. Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio, rallied from his 15th starting spot to finish fourth and Chad Ogle (no relation to the runner-up) of Sevierville, Tenn., rounded out the top five. Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., was running fourth late in the race but spun after contact with Chinn. Kerr ended up 11th. Four cautions slowed the 50-lapper.

Notes: Hill's GRT Race Car has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from Landair Transport, Qualcomm, Pilot and Fast Lane Racing Graphics. ... Hill won a first-lap, side-by-side duel with Rick Rogers to win the dash that gave him the pole position for the main event. ... Brian Dobbs and Michael Howard didn't make the feature lineup. ... Next up for TTDCS competitors is an April 17-18 weekend at Wartburg (Tenn.) Speedway and Mountain Raceway Park in Maryville, Tenn., two events co-sanctioned by the Southern Regional Racing Series.

Thunder Thaw 50: (1) Vic Hill, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Rick Rogers (4) Wayne Chinn, (5) Chad Ogle, (6) Stacy Boles, (7) Brian Smith, (8) Shon Flanary, (9) Steve Smith, (10) Mike Weeks, (11) Tommy Kerr, (12) Jason Trammell, (13) Danny Yoder, (14) Michael Smith, (15) Scott Gardner, (16) Marty Calloway, (17) Doug Smith, (18) Tommy Bailey, (19) Kerry Jones, (20) David Crabtree, (21) Dennis Barton, (22) Shannon Thornsberry, (23) Bryan Hendrix, (24) Jeff Neubert. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Hill, 11.54 seconds. Dash winners: Hill, B. Ogle. Consolation winners: S. Smith, Flanary.

Correction: Updates next series event

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728