Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lancaster Speedway

Franklin outruns Weeks, grabs Lancaster cash

March 22, 2009, 7:24 am
By Kevin Bowman
Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series
Dennis Franklin grabbed $5,000 on March 21 at Lancaster, S.C. (George
Dennis Franklin grabbed $5,000 on March 21 at Lancaster, S.C. (George "Big Mack" Missita)

LANCASTER, S.C. (March 21) — Third-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., overtook fast qualifier Ricky Weeks on the 12th lap at Lancaster Motor Speedway and led the rest of the 50-lapper for a Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory. Franklin, who broke the previous night leading the series opener near Gastonia, N.C., earned $5,000 for his 15th career series victory. | Slideshow

Weeks, gunning for his sixth consecutive series championship, settled for second at the half-mile oval while Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., finished third the night after his first-ever series victory at Carolina Speedway. Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., was fourth and Tim Allen of Kannapolis, N.C., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Franklin's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by En Compass Solutions, Cherokee Landscaping and Ohlins Shocks. ... Franklin's previous series victory came May 17, 2008, at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va. ... Josh Richeson of Harrisburg, N.C., rallied from his 18th starting spot to finish 10th, earning hard charger honors. ... Early dropout Scott Neighbors of Spring Lake, N.C., picked up the Tough Luck award. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Furman Parton, Jack Daughtry, Jay Sessoms and David Yandle. ... The next Carolina Clash event is set for April 4 at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway for the $4,000-to-win Ed Gibbons Memorial. The race honors the 2001 series champion who died recently in a non-racing accident.

Carolina Clash @ Lancaster: (1) Dennis Franklin, (2) Ricky Weeks, (3) Chris Ferguson, (4) Jeff Smith, (5) Tim Allen, (6) Ed Basey, (7) Chris Meadows, (8) Johnny Pursley, (9) Doug Sanders, (10) Josh Richeson, (11) Luke Roffers, (12) Justin Labonte, (13) Frankie Beard, (14) Ben Faircloth, (15) Billy Thompson, (16) Keith Freeman, (17) Randy Smith, (18) G.R. Smith, (19) Anthony Sanders, (20) Jeremy Faircloth, (21) Dean Bowen, (22) Dan Breuer, (23) Daniel Baggerly, (24) Scott Neighbors. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Weeks, 19.389 seconds. Consolation race winners: J. Faircloth, B. Faircloth.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728