Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

South Mississippi Speedway

Wall captures fourth straight MSCC opener

March 7, 2009, 5:11 pm
From series reports
Chris Wall won the $2,000 MSCC opener. (Tammy Davis)
Chris Wall won the $2,000 MSCC opener. (Tammy Davis)

PASS CHRISTIAN, Miss. (March 6) — Polesitter Chris Wall of Holden, La., took the lead on the 10th lap at South Mississippi Speedway to capture the season opener on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge for the fourth consecutive year. Wall earned $2,000 for the 40-lap victory, which is scheduled to be followed by Saturday's $3,000-to-win Frostbite 50 at the quarter-mile oval.

Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss., who started outside the front row and led the first eight laps, finished second while Scott Slay of Clinton, Miss., led the ninth lap but slipped back to finish third. Two-time and reigning MSCC champion David Ashley of Zachary, La., and Chad Thrash of Meridian, Miss., rounded out the top five at the Gulf Coast track.

Wall, who has won four of the previous six MSCC events at Pass Christian, increased his series-leading victory total to 26 events.

MSCC @ South Mississippi: (1) Chris Wall, (2) Neil Baggett, (3) Scott Slay, (4) David Ashley, (5) Chad Thrash, (6) Steve Bryan, (7) Chris McElhenney, (8) Jeremy Broadus, (9) James Ward, (10) Randy Boyd Thompson, (11) Mickey Trosclair, (12) Charles Gains, (13) Michael Santangelo, (14) Anthony Burroughs, (15) David Breazeale, (16) Bub McCool, (17) Greg Fore, (18) Keith Miller, (19) Alan Murray, (20) Corie Herberger, (21) Jay Blair, (22) Gary Scott Christian. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Wall, 14.363. Dash winner: Wall. Consolation race winners: Breazeale, Blair.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728