Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Winchester Raceway Park

Mayo rules Winchester Winterfest, earns $3,000

February 16, 2009, 12:36 pm
From track reports

WINCHESTER, Tenn. (Feb. 14) — Billy Mayo of Cleveland, Tenn., started on the pole at Winchester Speedway and stayed in control led the whole way for a $3,000 victory at the quarter-mile track's unsanctioned Winterfest. Mark Haddon of Estill Springs, Tenn., and Corey Posey of Petersburg, Tenn., stayed with Mayo much of the race but settled for second and third at the February special. Two-time Dirt Track World Champion Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., was fourth and Robert Gant of Flat Rock, Ala., rounded out the top five in a race with mostly one-grooved racing.

Notes: Mayo's GRT Race Car is sponsored by A&K Transport and Word of Life Ministries. ... Mayo has had a solid 2009 so far with a third-place finish at Talladega Short Track's Ice Bowl and a Crate Late Model victory Jan. 24 at Boyd's Speedway near Chattanooga, Tenn. .... The feature at the daytime event was on the track about 7:30 p.m. ... Sixteen of 24 starters were running at the finish; all 16 were on the lead lap. ... David Gentry of Lewisburg, Tenn., was among the early dropouts. ... Last year's Winchester champion David Brannon of Huntland, Tenn., was 17th. ... The track also hosted a Limited Late Model event, drawing 24 entrants. Daniel Miller of Shelbyville, Tenn., won the Limited feature in a Donnie Pogue-owned car with Haddon, Mayo, Stacy Tyler and Randy Gifford rounding out the top five. ... Winchester begins weekly racing on March 28 (with a practice scheduled for March 21). The next Super Late Model specials are the opening round of the Six Pack Shootout, a $2,500-to-win race on April 25, and the Southern Regional Racing Series visits for a $3,000-to-win race on May 23.

Winchester Winterfest: (1) Billy Mayo, (2) Mark Haddon, (3) Corey Posey, (4) Ronnie Johnson, (5) Robert Gant, (6) James Cline, (7) Brandon King, (8) Tony Knowles, (9) Jerry Ashley, (10) Jay Brinkley, (11) Randy Gifford, (12) Tony Morris, (13) Shawn Mitchell, (14) Mark Rosner, (15) Arnie Fields, (16) Ethan Hunter, (17) David Brannon, (18) John Kellum, (19) Bruce Williams, (20) Ruben Mayfield, (21) David Jackson, (22) Daniel Miller, (23) Carnell Parker III, (24) David Gentry. Fast qualifier (among 42 cars): Mayo, 15.28 seconds. Heat race winners: Morris, Gifford, Brinkley, Ashley. Consolation winners: Brannon, Fields.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728