Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greater Cumberland Raceway

Elliott earns $2,000 in Big Kahuna tuneup

October 1, 2011, 8:32 am
From track reports
Ricky Elliott's team celebrates in Cumberland, Md. (Tommy Michaels)
Ricky Elliott's team celebrates in Cumberland, Md. (Tommy Michaels)

CUMBERLAND, Md. – Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del., earned $2,000 for his first victory on the UFO Race Championship tour Friday night in Allegany County Speedway’s Waikki Wave 31, a tuneup event for Saturday night’s $5,000-to-win Big Kahuna XII at the 5/8-mile racetrack.

The fourth-starting Elliott picked up two positions on the race’s opening lap and after a caution with four laps completed, overtook polesitter Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., to move to the lead on lap five. | Slideshow

Elliott led the remaining distance to score the victory, while Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa., moved by Yoder midway through the race to finish second. Yoder settled for third with Chuck Clise of Frostburg, Md., fourth and Keith Barbara of South Park, Pa., fifth.

Notes: Elliott’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cresap Racing Engine with sponsorship from Hall’s Construction, J&M Roofing and Builders, Art Collins Trucking, Starrette Trucking and Advanced Motorsports. ... The victory is Elliott’s third overall during Big Kahuna weekend action. ... It is also Elliot’s first special event victory of 2011. ... Drivers who did not start Friday’s feature: Todd Snook, Tom Decker Jr., Tom Decker III, Derek Sala and Casey Fleegle. ... Saturday’s 50-lap, UFO-sanctioned Big Kahuna XII feature pays $5,000 to the winner.

Waikki Wave 31: (1) Ricky Elliott, (2) Jeff Rine, (3) Dylan Yoder, (4) Chuck Clise, (5) Keith Barbara, (6) Chad McClellan, (7) Jim Yoder, (8) Nick Dickson, (9) Jared Miley, (10) Matt Parks, (11) Derek Byler, (12) Jerry Bard, (13) Mason Zeigler, (14) John Garvin Jr., (15) Matt Cosner, (16) Corey Weaver, (17) Quintin Wyandt, (18) Wayne Johnson, (19) Brian Booze, (20) D.J. Troutman, (21) Danny Mitchell, (22) Greg Fetters, (23) Devin Friese, (24) Matt Sponaugle.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728